Sometimes technology sucks!

Started by TrevL, October 20, 2020, 01:00:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TrevL

Having had my car for some seven months, yesterday I finally plucked up courage to try the automatic parking assist feature.  All went well initially, although it seemed a little fast for my liking, and it was something to behold watching the steering wheel do it's own thing spinning left, and then right as it manouvered the car into the space outside my garage.  I said it seemed fast, so was just applying the brake and then crunch, the back made contact with the gate post :'(.  Just scratches to the plastic bumper fortunately, and a dented pride, but needless to say, I won't be using it again.  I've been parking in the same spot for 31 years-ish, and never hit a thing.  Bloody technology! :-X

Cheers, Trev.

Time flys like an arrow, fruit flies like a banana!

Trainfish

Quite ironic that there appears to be a sensor right in the middle of the damage. If it's 7 months from new I'd take it back and say it's defective  :thumbsup:
John

To follow the construction of my layout "Longcroft" from day 1, you'll have to catch the fish below first by clicking on it which isn't difficult right now as it's frozen!

<*))))><

joe cassidy

Probably made by the same factory that Dapol use  :D

TrevL

Sadly, I've had it seven months, but it's a 2017 car. :'(
Cheers, Trev.

Time flys like an arrow, fruit flies like a banana!

keithfre

Certainly doesn't hold out much hope for the safety of self-driving cars!

stevewalker