How to use amp meter

Started by Joker56, April 03, 2014, 02:45:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joker56

:sorrysign:
I'm a complete novice when it comes to using amp meter , would it be possible for the wise ones to do an idiots guide to using please , I switch it on , place the probes , no idea of what I should be seeing voltage wise etc which of the click settings to use .
Many thanks in advance, apologies if already covered
Peter B

Sprintex

Ray Haddad

An amp meter measures current, not voltage. What you most likely have is a multimeter. Not knowing the brand, I can't advise you about the knob settings but I can tell you how to take a measurement.

A multimeter can have many functions but the basic ones you need for most use are voltage, amperage and resistance. Almost every meter I have ever used has had at least those three. Some others have capacitance, inductance and component testing for transistors. Those last are of very little use to a beginner.

They all have something in common. A black (negative) lead and a red (positive) lead. Remember that and be sure the black is in the Negative or Common receptacle and the red in the Plus. Some meters make you move the red lead for current measuring. Read your manual for that.