Greetings... and a lack of RTR GWR stock?!

Started by grob1234, June 30, 2012, 03:53:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sredgrave and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

grob1234

Hello Everyone,

My first post here.

I am new to N Gauge, but have run an OO Gauge layout in the past. I am in the design phase of a relatively small N Gauge layout, based on CJ Freezers layout 6 in his N Gauge Track Plans book. My first question is, what's better, single track of double track? I fancied a little single track branch with the sidings and goods yard of the plan, but I am not sure if it is better to have 2 tracks?

I should have also mentioned that I am setting the layout in the mid 30's and would like to run a mixture of GWR and Southern in my little fantasy world. Although it seems fairly easy to pick up GWR Tanks and Small Locos on Ebay, GWR coach stock seems very rare indeed! Can anyone suggest anything I could try to boost my collection of 0 GWR coaches from the period!? Why is there such an emphasis on BR stock? Shame its not more balanced in my opinion!

Anyhow, I do apologise if this is in the wrong forum, or has been discussed before, but my knowledge of N Gauge and railways in general is pretty poor, so I am really hoping to tap in to the huge amount of know-how in this forum.

Thanks, Tom

Chinahand

Hi Tom and welcome to the  :NGF: from a fellow GWR nut.

With setting your layout as a mid 1930s branch then it should definitely be single track with passing loops in the station. RTR 1930s coaches are difficult to come by. Some do come up on e-bay but generally go for quite high prices. They are not strictly correct for your era but the best I can suggest is to get hold of either some of the new Collet carriages from Dapol or the older ones from GF.
Regards,
Trevor (aka Chinahand)
[smg id=2316]

galway

Is féidir tú a choinneáil ar eascainí an madra nó is féidir a lasadh coinneal duit

grob1234

Hi Trevor, thank you for your reply.