!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Do I need to fit stay alive to my new 66  (Read 102 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline exmouthcraig

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1804
    • Awards
Do I need to fit stay alive to my new 66
« on: May 09, 2020, 10:15:57 AM »
Morning All,

I have been running in my new GF class 66 and have managed to get it to crawl round the oval at a considerably low speed, on DC I havent chipped her yet BUT one thing I noticed is that at very slow speeds, the ones I want to be running, the lights dont work. They do at every other speed, and I was very impressed to see that the headlight above the cab worked like it should!!

I dont know if this is just on DC or if in DCC I can really confuse and frustrate myself with CVs and have them working all the time???

Or if I need to fit stay alive to it to get these to work. Help and recommendations please.

Offline njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 6797
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Do I need to fit stay alive to my new 66
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2020, 10:18:51 AM »
Just on DC - where the voltage isn’t high enough to light the LEDs. Not an issue on DCC as they receive full track power all the time.

I’ve never bothered with stay alive myself.

Offline ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4784
  • Country: gb
    • Königshafen thread on NGF
    • Awards
Re: Do I need to fit stay alive to my new 66
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2020, 10:20:39 AM »
You're simply running the loco on DC at less than the minimum voltage the LEDs need - which could be 3V-4V depending on the LED forward voltage. 

Remember on DCC you'll have constant track voltage available to the decoder to run the lights even when stationary.


Nothing to do with stay-alive, which is about maintaining power to a decoder over dead sections and dirt. Mainly of benefit for small short wheelbase locos, a bogie diesel should never need it.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2020, 10:22:13 AM by ntpntpntp »
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

 

Please Support Us!
July Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Jul 31
Total Receipts: £35.00
Below Goal: £25.00
Site Currency: GBP
58% 
July Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal