!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket  (Read 1238 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ten0G

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« on: November 25, 2019, 10:08:44 PM »
 :helpneededsign:

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, but I want to buy a computer to connect a TV socket.  Where do I start?! 

Currently I'm using a MacBook from 2010 which needs to be replaced by a computer with a larger display, about 24" seems to be about right. 

I don't necessarily need to stick to macOSx (unable to upgrade beyond v10.13.6) and I want to run MythTV to record TV programmes. 

Does anybody know what PCs I could consider, and what input socket(s) it would need to have please.   A desktop PC would be preferable. 

It's not an area I've had to deal with before. :-[

 :thankyousign:

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7680
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2019, 10:36:20 PM »
So you want to connect a PC to an aerial input to watch TV on the PC, basically?

You’ll need a TV tuner card in the PC. Why would you not then just use a TV as the ‘monitor’? A 32”+ TV will be far cheaper than an equivalent size monitor, and if you’re watching TV the higher resolution and refresh rates of a monitor are unlikely to be hugely advantageous.

Online zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 2026
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2019, 11:09:48 PM »
If you're using a Mac, this article covers the current options for TV tuner/recording devices.. https://machow2.com/best-tv-tuner-for-mac/ As you're using an older 2010 MacBook, any of the older Elgato eyeTV TV tuners is a really good option.

Displaying on a TV is pretty straightforward too. A display port -> HDMI adaptor will let you connect directly to a TV to use it as a 2nd display (or mirror the first one) or you can plug an AppleTV into the TV and use AirPlay to wirelessly mirror the screen (and or any iPhones or iPads you want) to the TV.

Offline ten0G

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2019, 09:37:26 AM »
Thanks Guys,

I don't have a TV, and urgently need to replace the MacBook as it can't be upgraded. 

I'd rather have a Windows machine now as it's of more use for layout planning software alternatives.  Also, the Mac's Safari browser doesn't run Netflix. 

My desk is only going to be about 5' or 6' long so it's a bit tight for space, which is why I've decided about 28" is the right size. 

This is supported by my experience using an even-older iMac which now can't run YouTube or iPlayer. 

Resolution doesn't seem to be a problem, based on my experience with the MacBook, it's just that a 13˝" screen is too small now, especially as I don't need to fit it in an overnight bag any more (can't travel abroad due to medical problems). 

In actual fact, my current interest would mostly be watching Talking Pictures, most of which is monochrome anyway.  As well as public and railway information films from the Forties and Fifties, some of the old British films they show seem to be much more entertaining than today's offerings. 


Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2154
  • Country: gb
  • The Coniston Railway
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2019, 09:40:48 AM »
Displaying on a TV is pretty straightforward too. A display port -> HDMI adaptor will let you connect directly to a TV to use it as a 2nd display (or mirror the first one) or you can plug an AppleTV into the TV and use AirPlay to wirelessly mirror the screen (and or any iPhones or iPads you want) to the TV.

You can, or could last time I bought one, get combined TV/monitors with both an antenna input (with freeview tuner) and an RGB input.


Online Railwaygun

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21889
  • Posts: 5730
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Keen on Military Rail, Kato Unitrack, & Z21/DCC
    • Railwaygun, Armoured train and Military Railway group
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2019, 10:25:58 AM »


  Also, the Mac's Safari browser doesn't run Netflix. 
 


chrome and Firefox both run Netflix on macs ( well on my 2018 Imac) - there are oder versions of the browsers available on the Web

This has been a public service announcement
It may contain alternative facts

Caveat lector

The largest Railwaygun, Armoured Train & Military Rail group in the world!
https://groups.io/g/railwaygun/topics

My Military Rail Pinterest area
https://uk.pinterest.com/NDRobotnik/

10mm / N armour Threads
https://www.10mm-wargaming.com/

Motto: Semper ubi, sub ubi

Online zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 2026
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2019, 10:59:55 AM »


  Also, the Mac's Safari browser doesn't run Netflix. 
 


chrome and Firefox both run Netflix on macs ( well on my 2018 Imac) - there are oder versions of the browsers available on the Web


Safari runs Netflix fine on my iMac too. If you're running a much older version though, it's unlikely to be supported by Netflix.

Offline ten0G

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2019, 11:58:02 AM »
iMac's Safari can't be upgraded beyond v5.0.6 (pre-2013) - it's a pre-2009 model.   :-[

Also doesn't run Firefox or Chrome   :(

MacBook seems to have issues with browsers not garbage-collecting to free-up memory.  Often grinds to a halt necessitating a restart, especially with Netflix and Youtube. 

Other unwanted issues as well are encouraging me to switch back to Windows.   :'(

Offline ten0G

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2019, 02:47:54 PM »
So you want to connect a PC to an aerial input to watch TV on the PC, basically?

You’ll need a TV tuner card in the PC.

So there would be no external TV tuner card options. 

In that case, what connection plug(s) will I need at the other end of the co-ax cable please? 

How easy is it to source PCs which include a tuner card option? 

Ideally, I'd be looking for something similar to an iMac & keyboard where everything is integral so I'd be grateful for any pointers regards brands/models, thanks. 

Offline themadhippy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1206
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2019, 03:05:19 PM »
Quote
So there would be no external TV tuner card options. 

Theres plenty that use the usb port ,either cheep ebay specials or from decent respected brands like http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/    there 1590 would be my choice as its 2 tuners,watch one channel whilst recording another or watch 2 different channels at the same time
Quote
I'd be looking for something similar to an iMac & keyboard where everything is integral so I'd be grateful for any pointers regards brands/models, thanks.

An all in one pc is the common name for such beasts,ive never had any isuse with lennova ,installed a few over the last year or 2,there touch screen,but take the abuse of controlling  lighting in a club and often left running 24/7
« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 03:18:07 PM by themadhippy »
freedom of speech is but a  fallacy.it dosnt exist here

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7680
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2019, 03:47:52 PM »
Assume you mean Lenovo? For ease of Googling.

Most seem to need a spare PCI slot, which isn't a given, particularly in an all-in-one PC where space is inherently more limited. A standard tower may be more likely.

The trouble you have is that this use case is, frankly, unusual! So most computers simply won't accommodate it off the shelf. I had a PC with a TV card in it, bought in 1997, not seen one since!

Online ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5908
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2019, 06:51:18 PM »
@njee20   yeah me too, I used to run a TV tuner card back in the late 90s, and I think the last thing I used was a Hauppauge USB digital TV stick.   

I gave them up a decade ago,  just as I have given up with PVR boxes etc. now that we have on-demand iPlayer etc. plus youtube, netflix etc.

You will need to have a TV licence if you plug an aerial into a tuner card or stick for the PC.

@ten0G  Seriously, you're better off getting a decent flat screen TV which will double up as a PC monitor.  That's the way I've worked for a very long time now in my hobby room, using picture-in-picture to have the TV programme in a corner of the PC desktop if I'm working on stuff and just want the TV in the background.
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50050.0

Online zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 2026
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2019, 07:32:33 PM »
Wwe
iMac's Safari can't be upgraded beyond v5.0.6 (pre-2013) - it's a pre-2009 model.   :-[

Also doesn't run Firefox or Chrome   :(

MacBook seems to have issues with browsers not garbage-collecting to free-up memory.  Often grinds to a halt necessitating a restart, especially with Netflix and Youtube. 

Other unwanted issues as well are encouraging me to switch back to Windows.   :'(
Well, they are 10 year old machines (and a system re-install will probably clear up the MacBook). So a new computer sounds a plan. If you do a bit of a system clean up on them there's still some 2nd hand value in them.

Offline ten0G

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2019, 03:17:57 PM »
Well, they are 10 year old machines (and a system re-install will probably clear up the MacBook). So a new computer sounds a plan. If you do a bit of a system clean up on them there's still some 2nd hand value in them.

Thanks, probably not worth the effort though as the MacBook's touchpad doesn't function properly so I use a mouse, also it's a Japanese keyboard with a US-style layout. 

Not sure I can do a reinstall, can't properly remember setting it up.   :-[

Don't recall where the system discs for the iMac are either at present.   :confused2:

Online zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 2026
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: Connecting a Computer to a TV Ariel Socket
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2019, 04:25:03 PM »
Well, they are 10 year old machines (and a system re-install will probably clear up the MacBook). So a new computer sounds a plan. If you do a bit of a system clean up on them there's still some 2nd hand value in them.

Thanks, probably not worth the effort though as the MacBook's touchpad doesn't function properly so I use a mouse, also it's a Japanese keyboard with a US-style layout. 

Not sure I can do a reinstall, can't properly remember setting it up.   :-[

Don't recall where the system discs for the iMac are either at present.   :confused2:

Assuming it's been updated during its lifetime then the install disks would be fairly pointless anyway as they'd be a lower version of the OS than is set in the firmware. Normally you just download the latest compatible version from the App Store and install it via USB stick. (there's instructions online for how to change the update images into standalone bootable USB installation sticks). Maybe a cosmetic clean up, secure hard disk wipe and sell on as-is :)

 

Please Support Us!
January Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Jan 31
Total Receipts: £125.00
Above Goal: £65.00
Site Currency: GBP
208% 
January Donations

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal