!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: New to N Gauge, help required  (Read 835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Railwaygun

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21889
  • Posts: 4504
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Keen on Military Rail, Kato Unitrack, & Z21/DCC
    • Railwaygun, Armoured train and Military Railway group
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2018, 09:44:20 AM »
The UK model shop website lists all local clubs, reMR shops and shows in your area.

http://www.ukmodelshops.co.uk

Go to some shows and see what is on offer - the good, the bad and the Ugly!

Not everyone achieves a rivet- perfect model railway, many of us are happy with a loop of track and playing trains!
This has been a public service announcement
It may contain alternative facts

Caveat lector

The largest Railwaygun, Armoured Train & Military Rail group in the world!
https://groups.io/g/railwaygun/topics

My Military Rail Pinterest area
https://uk.pinterest.com/NDRobotnik/

10mm / N armour
https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/350436414753212039/

Motto: Semper ubi, sub ubi

Online Delboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2018, 01:45:39 PM »
 :welcomesign:
You will find us a friendly and informative bunch. Good luck with whatever you choose as your track, but do a lot of research before laying your track on here, You-tube or the internet. You can learn from others the pitfalls to avoid before having a go. Best of luck.
She who must be obeyed says I am spending too much time on this forum. I love her dearly but what does she know?

Offline mildon49

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2018, 02:25:41 PM »
i never realised it would be like going back to school all this research :)

My idea for first set is....what i like, trains, carriages and wagons that i like and dont care about period and compatibility in real life.
Then i will move onto doing a recreation of something from my localish area (i am near brighton).

looking forward to get stuck in, going to work out track planning etc over the weekend, on that note....what do people use to plan track in n gauge?

Online Delboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2018, 02:36:27 PM »
To plan my track I use Anyrail which does cost but is excellent. I believe Scarm is free and another option but have read that it is more difficult to use than Anyrail. Hope this helps.
She who must be obeyed says I am spending too much time on this forum. I love her dearly but what does she know?

Online RailGooner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17356
  • Posts: 2257
  • Country: gb
  • I'm supporting Soldier F
    • Ebay
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2018, 02:41:43 PM »
i never realised it would be like going back to school all this research :)


..
looking forward to get stuck in, going to work out track planning etc over the weekend, on that note....what do people use to plan track in n gauge?

There's a wealth of opinion archived within the forum Lee. A search for track planning software throws up many results including:

   https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=1736.msg17629#msg17629

HTH
“We are indebted to those soldiers who served with courage and distinction to bring peace to Northern Ireland,” UK Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson said. “The welfare of our former service personnel is of the utmost importance.”

Per Ardua ad Astra | Mens Agitat Molem | Victoria Concordia Crescit | Utrinque Paratus | Caveat lector

Offline mildon49

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2018, 04:38:21 PM »
Right thanks to you all so far.
I now know and sorting track, and much else beside.
I also been having fun in scram to work out layout.

Which leads me to another quest!
I have challenged myself to build a layout in 2 x 4 foot,
I want to get a train up a slope to give bit of height, is that possible on this size?

Offline mildon49

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2018, 04:49:35 PM »
Oh and of course I don’t expect anyone to reply tonight!
Happy new year to you all
Lee

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 797
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2018, 04:52:07 PM »
i just lay my track on the board and arrange, pencil in curves, points, try seeing what fits where, as am not a fan of technology
blue / grey era diesels / electrics and suitable stock

Online ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2817
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #23 on: December 31, 2018, 05:36:15 PM »
To be honest I think attempting a gradient in that sort of space is ambitious but not impossible.  You'll find some of the pre-formed layouts offered by continental manufacturers achieve it in that sort of space but it does look very "train-set" like.

For example Noch's "Bergun" layout is 4x2 ish:
https://www.noch.com/en/product-categories/model-railways/preformed-layouts/fertiggelande-bergun.html

If you work on a ruling gradient of maybe 1 in 30 then you need a run of 6' to rise 2" which is the sort of clearance you need to get one track to bridge another.  The curves will be tight will will add further drag to the train and severely reduce the length and number of wagons you can expect a loco to be able to haul up the gradient.
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Online dannyboy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25492
  • Posts: 3379
  • Country: ie
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #24 on: December 31, 2018, 06:13:51 PM »

I have challenged myself to build a layout in 2 x 4 foot,
I want to get a train up a slope to give bit of height, is that possible on this size?

My first layout was in a 4' x 2' coffee table. The layout does have a gradient, but I can not tell you what it is at the moment, so, yes, it is possible.  :thumbsup:
The best way is to build a mock up of the layout and gradually add blocks or whatever under the track to create the incline and see what is possible.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2018, 06:15:07 PM by dannyboy »
David.
I used to be indecisive - now I'm not - I don't think.
If a friend seems distant, catch up with him.

Offline DarrwestLU6

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28089
  • Posts: 159
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting back into N after a long break!
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2018, 06:22:27 PM »

4) Electrically operated points is certainly possible. Peco sell motors for their points which mount underneath.  You may like to consider alternative track systems such as Kato Unitrack which have neat motors built into the point itself.  If you're going to change track systems, probably best  to do that before you invest in more Peco track?

Hi there and welcome to the Forum! It's a mine of information and friendly advice.

I love the Peco track myself. Just wanted to say if you build a layout where you can't get access from underneath for any reason or have limited space, Peco also do a surface mounted point motor that operates sideways - see https://peco-uk.com/products/side-mounted-turnout-motor - It is built for OO/HO but I have it working fine on my N gauge points. You just need to cut the mounting lugs off on the side nearest the point to get close enough and it'll fit. Or use a short stiff wire like a paperclip to connect the motor arm to the point, and you can then hide the point motor under a building, platform, scenery etc. This might suit a coffee table if you can't access from underneath.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2018, 06:25:09 PM by DarrwestLU6 »

Offline DarrwestLU6

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28089
  • Posts: 159
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting back into N after a long break!
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #26 on: December 31, 2018, 06:31:25 PM »
PS - If you have tight spaces BUT want to go multi-level then you could consider putting in a helix. You could hide some of it in a tunnel or behind a backscene? It's true though if you have tight curves you need to reduce the gradient. A good thread on this here: https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=41912.msg539768#msg539768 which covers the curve radii and inclines...

Offline mildon49

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2019, 05:47:34 PM »
right i have decided on layout order everything i need (for now to get me going....)
I have also built my own dc transformer and speed controller!
Now i want to power points etc, so need this elusive 16v ac power supply.....
has any one built their own 16v supply?

Online ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2817
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #28 on: January 05, 2019, 08:10:55 PM »
Now i want to power points etc, so need this elusive 16v ac power supply.....
has any one built their own 16v supply?


Yes, I simply used a readily available 240V - 16V step down transformer  (actually I used Gaugemaster  T1  twin 16V output transformer). The same transformers I use to power my controllers, so I have two of these transformers in my unit, plus another which drives a CDU for point power.


http://www.gaugemaster.com/item_details.asp?code=GMC-T1

Obviously if you build your own it needs to be cased safely and earthed/fused etc.



« Last Edit: January 05, 2019, 08:19:19 PM by ntpntpntp »
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Offline Bealman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23151
  • Posts: 15302
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Red & white Trafalgar Square
    • Awards
Re: New to N Gauge, help required
« Reply #29 on: January 06, 2019, 02:32:28 AM »
That's a nice looking unit you've put together there!  :thumbsup:

Multiple outputs via banana sockets I guess, but can I ask what the heat shrinked connection is, please?

Actually, I wouldn't mind see a pic with the lid off!  :beers:
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

 

Please Support Us!
April Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Total Receipts: £70.00
Above Goal: £15.00
Site Currency: GBP
127% 
April Donations


Advertise Here
anything