!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard  (Read 7032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2011, 12:41:05 PM »
While my brother is putting the finishing touches to my controller box (I just don't have the dexterity or patience to solder 25pin D connectors ;) ) I've got the boards repaired and stuck down the fiddle yard sidings that had broken loose in the move. Plus I've sorted my bridges out with shims, new rails in places and other bits of bodge to get them to line up reliably.

Here's an overview pic with Ives End to one side (the wrong way around ;) ) and the central road bridge to the yard removed (that one covers the centre board join normally) waiting for the glue to all set.


Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2011, 05:44:47 PM »
After a bit of repair to the scenery and a complete rethink of the boards' physical connections (replaced all the random bits of metal with a simple plate of MDF with countersunk bolts through to each baseboard) I've got Ives Yard back up on the desk. It's about 8mm higher up than previously (which means my iMac screen is now 8mm higher up), but it's easier to align the two boards together properly.

The good news is, I powered up the yard line for the first time in a year and it looks like the wiring works all the way across. It also looks like I need to do some industrial strength track cleaning as the engine that runs oh so smoothly on my Kato test track gets stuck and stutters on various parts of this line. Not too surprising after a year of non running and scenicing/painting going on around it.

The main line's more tricky as I now have to work out a way to raise the Unittrack on my end desks to match the layout's new height before I can get it all looping around. That'll be fun :)

Offline fisherman

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 530
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2011, 07:43:34 PM »
looks VERY impressive!!!
<o({{{<<

Offline Tank

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+30)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7503
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2011, 08:10:30 PM »
I missed the last update.  The layout looks great. :thumbsup:

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2011, 11:48:41 PM »
One of the end desks now rejigged to the right height (replaced the feet with castors so now it's even more useful as an office table too ;) ) and was able to test run half of the main line with some of my new acquisitions (a couple of you may recognise some of them).

Here's a quick video clip of Class 47 Hadrian pulling a mixed rake of BR Mk1 stock (various Farish and Lima).

http://gallery.me.com/zwilnik/100226

Realised I need a backscene now :)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 11:51:16 PM by Zwilnik »

Offline Mustermark

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19989
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Ex-pat Brit in Maryland
    • Mark's Model Railway
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2011, 12:31:35 AM »
That's very nice... very cool 8) to have that running while you're on the forum!  A backscene will bring it to life for sure. :thumbsup:

http://www.marksmodelrailway.com
I'm a personality prototype... you can tell, can't you.

Offline Mustermark

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19989
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Ex-pat Brit in Maryland
    • Mark's Model Railway
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2011, 12:32:56 AM »
Will you make a river out of the Mac stand/base so it becomes part of the layout under the bridge?

http://www.marksmodelrailway.com
I'm a personality prototype... you can tell, can't you.

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2011, 12:48:03 AM »
Will you make a river out of the Mac stand/base so it becomes part of the layout under the bridge?

Plan is to have a small overlay sheet that can be dropped on when it's in full scenic mode (have to be careful with all the scenery under the iMac as it draws in air from underneath for cooling, so don't want it drawing in fine scenic particles too ;) ). I'm also planning to put a low valence 'wall' around the front to tidy up the edge.

Offline Mustermark

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19989
  • Posts: 2698
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Ex-pat Brit in Maryland
    • Mark's Model Railway
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2011, 12:49:48 AM »
 8) :thumbsup:

http://www.marksmodelrailway.com
I'm a personality prototype... you can tell, can't you.

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #24 on: April 09, 2011, 04:33:31 PM »
Got the other end desk up to height and spliced wires to both ends of the loop (they're isolated in the centre where the boards join) and now the video's updated with a full lap :)

http://gallery.me.com/zwilnik#100226

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #25 on: April 21, 2011, 06:26:17 PM »
Seeing the various 'on train' videos people are doing got me hacking :) took the casing off a keyfob mini camera so it would cope with my restrictive loading gauge and hey presto..


http://gallery.me.com/zwilnik/100235

Offline Vulcan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2011, 07:23:08 PM »
do you have any info about the camera you used? it sounds interesting.
Cheers,

David

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2011, 07:39:43 PM »
It's one of these (not sure which seller, but there are plenty of them) our ones were about 15 and came with the micro SD card and a normal size SD card adaptor. Some of them are cheaper but don't include the card.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/4GB-Spy-Cam-Car-Key-Keyring-Fob-DVR-Camera-Recorder-/220771422277?pt=UK_Gadgets&hash=item3367009045#ht_1633wt_1141

It's a bit wide for n-gauge really (removing the casing improves things, but watch out for the battery wires snapping off and needing to be re-soldered). It does video and stills to the SD card, or just connect it over mini USB, which it charges over (works nicely on the Mac too, which is good for a cheap camera).

Offline michael

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22982
  • Posts: 530
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Ebay
    • Crewe Paint Shop
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2011, 07:50:59 PM »
that vids great, ive been wondering about doing something similar for a while but hadnt seen anything suitable.

Offline zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1976
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: My Desktop layout. Ives Yard
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2011, 08:40:36 PM »
we're looking to see if there's anything smaller, or possibly re-jig this one to rotate the CCD round 90 degrees so it can be mounted sideways in a custom well car or something. The circuit board is most of the width, so I don't think that will be able to be slimmed, but if it's in a well car side on, it wouldn't be shockingly high.

 

Please Support Us!
June Goal: £100.00
Due Date: Jun 30
Total Receipts: £52.00
Below Goal: £48.00
Site Currency: GBP
52% 
June Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal