!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Track Radius  (Read 521 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aire Valley

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Track Radius
« on: January 20, 2020, 12:12:49 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm currently planning a layout and was wondering what other members suggest or have experienced when it comes to the radius of the curves? I'm conscious of buffer lock and inward toppling.

Is 300mm / 11.8inches too tight for a loco and a full rake of 34-36 MGR hoppers?

Any info, much appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim
« Last Edit: January 20, 2020, 01:48:25 PM by Aire Valley »

Online Ditape

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25087
  • Posts: 2137
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Female
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2020, 01:08:09 AM »
That is what I use for my minimum radius and have not had any problems even running things like UP EMD DD40AX Centennials ,Challengers and Big Boys.








Diane Tape



Offline Doltic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: de
  • Gender: Male
  • Crazy about Deltics
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2020, 07:35:08 AM »
I've been running things like a Eurostar through 280mm radii just fine, so 300mm should be good.
Deltic nerd.

now owns a BR01.

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7115
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2020, 08:01:43 AM »
The key point overlooked by the two replies (as the OP acknowledges) is that the issue becomes about the length of train and the drag increasing the likelihood of being pulled off the inside of the curve.

That said, I donít think youíll have a problem. Bigger issue will likely be that some locos wonít haul 36 hoppers without significant effort. Avoid Dapol 66s for a start.

Offline Aire Valley

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2020, 08:00:19 PM »
Thanks for information and help, guys.

I decided to make a slight adjustment for now, so that the tightest radius of the 4 lines is 380mm / 15 inches.

Traffic will be dominated by class 56/58/60. Hope they have the power!

Tim

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7115
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2020, 08:10:20 PM »
I understand the 58 can be underwhelming (I don't have one). The 56 is pretty heavy, and thus probably quite capable, and I suspect the Farish 60 would pull 36 real HAAs given a chance!

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 35623
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Track Radius
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2020, 09:31:36 PM »

Traffic will be dominated by class 56/58/60. Hope they have the power!


With all those three you should be able to pull something, I'm sure :-X

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £71.00
Above Goal: £11.00
Site Currency: GBP
118% 
September Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal