N Gauge Forum

Notices, Help With Problems and Your Forum Ideas... => Computer Help => Topic started by: Airfix 27 RA on June 24, 2020, 09:29:10 PM

Title: default gateway not available
Post by: Airfix 27 RA on June 24, 2020, 09:29:10 PM
For about a month I keep getting this problem.  Windows massage, can't find page.
I click on the diagnostics, Windows Network Diagnostics comes up, does all sorts of things
messages then comes up, problem fixed.  Only happens when online and can be 8,9,10
times a day, it is now really bugging me.  Any ideas?
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: ntpntpntp on June 24, 2020, 09:53:44 PM
Well assuming your network IP settings say use DHCP (most people will do unless they like to control their own home network in a tighter way) then your PC should be getting its gateway settings from your broadband router.  In turn your router then gets its IP and DNS info from your broadband provider.

Sounds like something's having problems (maybe things are running very slow when you boot up) and running the connection fix makes it sort itself out and refresh the info from the router.
 
Are you running over ethernet cable or over WiFi to the router?  Any WiFi signal strength or connection problems? Any broadband connection problems?
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Airfix 27 RA on June 25, 2020, 07:35:36 AM
Are you running over ethernet cable or over WiFi to the router?  Any WiFi signal strength or connection problems? Any broadband connection problems?

Running via Wi Fi, Broadband working fine and computer is about 3' from the router.
Will I need to get someone round to fix this?  I'm clueless with computers.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Malc on June 25, 2020, 11:49:46 AM
You could have a look at what your PC thinks itís settings are. Open a command box and type ipconfig. Press return and see what it thinks your default gateway is set to. It should be something like 192.168.0.1 or maybe ending in a different number.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: ntpntpntp on June 25, 2020, 12:02:34 PM
Has anything been updated/changed on the PC?  Windows updates,  antivirus, other software installed?  You'll find quite a few discussions on the topic on the net. Also lots of "how to fix..." links but be careful of those - many are a bit bogus and want to get you to download stuff.

I'd still tend to suspect connectivity problems myself.   If you're only 3' from the router can you try running with an ethernet cable for a while?
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: red_death on June 25, 2020, 01:31:31 PM
Do you tend to turn your computer off when youíve finished or hibernate it? If the latter then any problem may keep re-occurring as Windows doesnít always finish any recent updates on hibernation.

You shouldnít need to get someone out but you might have to be prepared to do a bit of diagnostic work on your WiFi settings and router.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: NScaleNotes on June 25, 2020, 01:52:10 PM
Curious, if it only happens when online, I guess you mean browsing. If so it might not be a local area network issue.
Does your email software and/or Windows Updates also experience strange connection problems too?

Might it also be anti-virus software related? Any new anti-virus software or updates before the problem started happening?
Please be careful with this: but you could try disabling your current anti-virus software, perhaps turn on Windows Defender for a bit of protection while doing this and browse some known safe sites and see if that fixes things.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Airfix 27 RA on June 25, 2020, 01:55:09 PM
You could have a look at what your PC thinks itís settings are. Open a command box and type ipconfig. Press return and see what it thinks your default gateway is set to. It should be something like 192.168.0.1 or maybe ending in a different number.

What the heck is a command box?
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: ntpntpntp on June 25, 2020, 02:03:55 PM
You could have a look at what your PC thinks itís settings are. Open a command box and type ipconfig. Press return and see what it thinks your default gateway is set to. It should be something like 192.168.0.1 or maybe ending in a different number.

What the heck is a command box?

The command line application in windows. Gives you access to underlying commands from back in the days before we had graphical interfaces  :D

Search your PC apps for Cmd or Command and select Command Prompt app.   
(https://docs.ukfast.co.uk/_images/cmdprompt.PNG)


When you run that you get a black box window with a command prompt.  As Malc suggests, type in
ipconfig

... it tells you some info about the addresses that the PC has obtained (or is preset) for each network connection.

(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/6c/Ipconfig_win_xp.png)

Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Malc on June 25, 2020, 02:05:50 PM
Depending on which version you are using. There could be a white box next to the start menu. Type CMD in there and you can select one.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Airfix 27 RA on June 25, 2020, 04:21:04 PM
Sorry guys all the above means nothing to me, I can just about manage to deal with what I am
doing now, a forum, oh, ebay and email, thats it.  It took me about an hour and three fags just to
get those pics on my post!!.
If this might help I have a Lenovo ideapad 110 15ACL.
This laptop does not show a screen anything like the blue one.
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: ntpntpntp on June 25, 2020, 04:31:57 PM
OK, so we could start to try and talk you through doing some basic stuff on a Windows pc like hitting the "Windows key" then typing "cmd" so it starts to search through your apps similar to that blue screenshot above, but to be honest if computers aren't your thing  (and that's fine  :) ) then it's going to get a bit laborious over a bunch of forum posts. 

To be honest even if you did mange to get the ipconfig results up they'll mean nothing to you, it'll need someone on here to understand and spot the problem if there is one.

Perhaps yes you do need someone to come and show you and maybe sort out the problem for you?
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Airfix 27 RA on June 25, 2020, 04:44:11 PM
OK, so we could start to try and talk you through doing some basic stuff on a Windows pc like hitting the "Windows key" then typing "cmd" so it starts to search through your apps similar to that blue screenshot above, but to be honest if computers aren't your thing  (and that's fine  :) ) then it's going to get a bit laborious over a bunch of forum posts. 

To be honest even if you did mange to get the ipconfig results up they'll mean nothing to you, it'll need someone on here to understand and spot the problem if there is one.

Perhaps yes you do need someone to come and show you and maybe sort out the problem for you?

Yep, I'll get someone in, because as you say, even if I did manage to get this windows thing up, it
would still be goggaldy gook to me.
But hey, thanks everyone for trying to help me, I really appreciate that.
I'm just not a computer type, :censored: DCC control is high tech for me and my digital camera, is just wow.
Stuart
Title: Re: default gateway not available
Post by: Railwaygun on June 25, 2020, 10:42:19 PM
the best investment would be a 4" length of ethernet cable to connect pc to the router.

what version of windows are you using? ntp3 's picture was windows 10

if you dont know, click Start button, then control panel, then System

this info will be useful ( operating system ) - do a picture?

is there anyone in your local train club who can help? ( if you belong to one)

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal