!!

Not Yet Registered?

Welcome to the N Gauge Forum!  We've currently hidden most of the threads due to the vast number of guests contributing in slowing the speed of the forum down.  Please register and login to see the many thousands of posts about our great hobby.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)  (Read 6456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MalcolmInN

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2290
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2015, 09:55:06 AM »
After using the "System Restore" the PC opened up with the date of 21 May 2007!

I tried changing the clock and date.  This time it worked. 
So, like I said in reply #2

!

Glad it is sorted now.

Offline petercharlesfagg

  • Sadly Passed Away
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23769
  • Posts: 1904
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Ebay
    • Facebook
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2015, 04:13:57 PM »
This may be a bit of a long shot but easy check :
Look at your computer clock (bottom right in Firefox) is it showing correct time and date ?

If it has been reset to something early then there will be security certificate errors, like above.

As you said a security error but I had no idea how to find the thing I was looking for and besides I wasn't sure I knew!!!

Peter.
Each can do but little, BUT if each did that little, ALL would be done!

Life is like a new sewer pipe, what you get out of it depends on what you put into it!

A day without laughter is a day wasted!

Offline keithfre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 5036
  • Posts: 773
  • Country: nl
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)
« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2015, 04:40:15 PM »
I get something similar if the computer clock is wrong (because the CMOS battery is dead and doesn't keep the time updated). I use a utility called Karen's Time Sync to synchronize the computer clock on startup and regularly thereafter.

Offline MalcolmInN

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2290
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2015, 06:45:33 PM »
This may be a bit of a long shot but easy check :
Look at your computer clock (bottom right in Firefox) is it showing correct time and date ?

If it has been reset to something early then there will be security certificate errors, like above.

As you said a security error but I had no idea how to find the thing I was looking for and besides I wasn't sure I knew!!!

Peter.

Oh crumbs ! I'm sorry, I see that I put too much info in my post :) ! and confused things !! and I should have said bottom right 'of' your Firefox not 'in' your Firefox :(

So to re-cap, if it happens again :--

1) Look at the clock
2) If it is wrong put it right
3) shut down and re-start
4) Look at the clock again, if it is now (still) right your problem will be solved

But maybe --
2a ) If you dont know how to put it right, ask us for more.

4a) If it has gone wrong again, , , cry !
4b) Ask us for help again - which will involve instructions on how to change a battery in the computer.

Would some pictures on how to re-set (adjust) your clock help ?




« Last Edit: July 20, 2015, 06:47:15 PM by MalcolmAL »

Offline petercharlesfagg

  • Sadly Passed Away
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23769
  • Posts: 1904
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Ebay
    • Facebook
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #19 on: July 20, 2015, 06:50:30 PM »
This may be a bit of a long shot but easy check :
Look at your computer clock (bottom right in Firefox) is it showing correct time and date ?

If it has been reset to something early then there will be security certificate errors, like above.

As you said a security error but I had no idea how to find the thing I was looking for and besides I wasn't sure I knew!!!

Peter.

Oh crumbs ! I'm sorry, I see that I put too much info in my post :) ! and confused things !! and I should have said bottom right 'of' your Firefox not 'in' your Firefox :(

So to re-cap, of it happens again :--

1) Look at the clock
2) If it is wrong put it right
3) shut down and re-start
4) Look at the clock again, if it is now (still) right your problem will be solved

But maybe --
2a ) If you dont know how to put it right, ask us for more.

4a) If it has gone wrong again, , , cry !
4b) Ask us for help again - which will involve instructions on how to change a battery in the computer.

Would some pictures on how to re-set (adjust) your clock help ?

Thank you, I appreciate the humour too!

As for the battery, I know how to change the battery, I even have one on the PC desk, I just don't dare since the PC does not belong to me!

The clock, is, at the moment, resetting itself so I'll not worry unduly.  I have messaged my stepson as to what he would like me to do?

Thank you for all your help and assistance, Peter.

Each can do but little, BUT if each did that little, ALL would be done!

Life is like a new sewer pipe, what you get out of it depends on what you put into it!

A day without laughter is a day wasted!

Offline MalcolmInN

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2290
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #20 on: July 20, 2015, 07:07:42 PM »
As for the battery, I know how to change the battery,
Oh good, so when mine goes wrong I'll be along to see you lol! Cos it makes me nervous as well, so we can hold hands together :)

Quote
The clock, is, at the moment, resetting itself so I'll not worry unduly.
Good good, that just about confirms that it was the power glitch wot  done it and that no lasting damage was done to the hardware. It just left the poor wee thing (the bios) in a confused state of memory.
Much like me at times ;)

Ok, all's well, I'll leave you in peace.


Offline Malc

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21878
  • Posts: 5185
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)
« Reply #21 on: July 20, 2015, 07:47:17 PM »
Peter, if the CMOS battery is dead, you will lose all the BIOS settings, so the computer might not remember it has any discs or CD Roms.
The years have been good to me, it was the weekends that did the damage.

Offline petercharlesfagg

  • Sadly Passed Away
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23769
  • Posts: 1904
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Ebay
    • Facebook
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection"
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2015, 11:51:39 AM »
If the power cuts keep happening, try fitting a UPS to your PC mains feed. These supply power from international batteries and a small one would give you enough time to shut down your PC safely.

Malcolm, a link to a cheap small item would be appreciated, from what I have seen on the 'net, they are very expensive over 100!

Peter.
Each can do but little, BUT if each did that little, ALL would be done!

Life is like a new sewer pipe, what you get out of it depends on what you put into it!

A day without laughter is a day wasted!

Offline MikeDunn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21391
  • Posts: 3098
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)
« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2015, 12:22:12 PM »
And the cost of a new laptop, not to mention all the aggravation of setting it up, adding apps, data etc is ... ?

100 is small change when you consider the alternatives ...  Appreciate you're on a budget but sometimes you have to just grin & pay out.

[edit]
Just to be 'not awkward' a quick Google showed this site : http://www.comms-express.com/categories/ups-solutions/?finder=ups&params= - from 43
« Last Edit: July 21, 2015, 12:26:10 PM by MikeDunn »

Offline Malc

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21878
  • Posts: 5185
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)
« Reply #24 on: July 21, 2015, 01:17:50 PM »
Bearing in mind that the UPS would need to supply your PC and monitor, and your PC might have a 500w power supply, so I would look for one rated at 750VA as a minimum. That gives a bit of head room on starting up.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2015, 02:04:55 PM by Malc »
The years have been good to me, it was the weekends that did the damage.

Online Bealman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23151
  • Posts: 22597
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Promotion remains in the future
    • Awards
Re: "Insecure Connection" (SOLVED, I think?)
« Reply #25 on: July 21, 2015, 01:29:28 PM »
 :thumbsup:
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £80.00
Above Goal: £20.00
Site Currency: GBP
133% 
September Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal