!!

Not Yet Registered?

Welcome to the N Gauge Forum!  We've currently hidden most of the threads due to the vast number of guests contributing in slowing the speed of the forum down.  Please register and login to see the many thousands of posts about our great hobby.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: JMRI not working  (Read 588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Innovationgame

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 26531
  • Posts: 4655
  • Country: gb
    • The innovationgame
    • Awards
JMRI not working
« on: February 23, 2018, 02:35:17 PM »
 :helpneededsign: I have installed JMRI and I wanted to make a start so that when I get a laptop, I will be able to transfer the files and get things moving.  I have been able to enter the layout editor and create a schematic of my layout, including all the loops and turnouts.  However, when I try to access any table, all that happens is that a hidden blank window is created.  The editor and PanelPro still work at this stage.  However, if I open the window via the PanelPro Window menu item, everything stops working.  I cannot even close PanelPro.  I have to resort to Taskmanager to end the Java Process. I went to the JMRI discussion forum on SouorceForge.net, but I need to register to use that.  I have tried to register with SourceForge, but I get no reply, so I am stuck.  Does anyone have any ideas?
With kind regards
Laurence
My personal website is a bit of a mish mash: www.innovationgame.com
Coventry Corporation Transport Society: www.cct-society.org.uk
Hessle: www.hessle.org.uk

Offline ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 6802
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: JMRI not working
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 03:40:21 PM »
I've not been there for a while, but I used to use the JMRI Yahoo group.

It will be handy if you post  some detail of your PC operating system, version of JMRI you installed and the java version it's running on (from memory I think JMRI has a Help>About box on its main menu that will tell you useful stuff)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 03:43:00 PM by ntpntpntp »
Nick.   2021 celebrating the 25th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50050.0

Offline Snowwolflair

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25174
  • 2mm Association Number: 4194
  • Posts: 4429
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: JMRI not working
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2018, 04:28:16 PM »
:helpneededsign: I have installed JMRI and I wanted to make a start so that when I get a laptop, I will be able to transfer the files and get things moving.  I have been able to enter the layout editor and create a schematic of my layout, including all the loops and turnouts.  However, when I try to access any table, all that happens is that a hidden blank window is created.  The editor and PanelPro still work at this stage.  However, if I open the window via the PanelPro Window menu item, everything stops working.  I cannot even close PanelPro.  I have to resort to Taskmanager to end the Java Process. I went to the JMRI discussion forum on SouorceForge.net, but I need to register to use that.  I have tried to register with SourceForge, but I get no reply, so I am stuck.  Does anyone have any ideas?

Check you have the correct version of JAVA installed.  This is usually what causes problems.

Offline Innovationgame

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 26531
  • Posts: 4655
  • Country: gb
    • The innovationgame
    • Awards
Re: JMRI not working
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2018, 04:57:20 PM »
Thanks for the help.  I eventually got some help from JMRI and the issue was a sound file bug in the official release.  I have now installed Test Version 4.11.3 and that has solved the problem.
With kind regards
Laurence
My personal website is a bit of a mish mash: www.innovationgame.com
Coventry Corporation Transport Society: www.cct-society.org.uk
Hessle: www.hessle.org.uk

Offline njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 8570
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: JMRI not working
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2018, 07:43:48 PM »
Yes, I had the same issue, only present in the latest stable release, but as you've found installing the latest test release sorts it!

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £80.00
Above Goal: £20.00
Site Currency: GBP
133% 
September Donations

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal