Which DSLR Camera To Buy?

Started by dannyboy, November 26, 2020, 10:49:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dannyboy

First off, I realise I am asking a question that will probably get as many recommendations as answers. However, I am looking to buy a DSLR camera and wondered if there was a strong leaning towards any particular make and/or model. I have no experience of DSLR cameras and currently use a Canon SX720 Compact, which I have to say, I am quite happy with. I do however, feel like I want to be more creative, so, what do people recommend, say to a maximum of around £750?

I have looked at various online reviews but can not pin any one particular camera down.  :confused1:
David.
I used to be indecisive - now I'm not - I don't think.
If a friend seems distant, catch up with them.

Markthetog

The first thing to find out is which feels best in your hands. Go to a shop (Currys/PC World will be open next week but don't buy there!) and hold a Canon, a Nikon and a Sony. Their grips and ergonomics differ a surprising amount and comfort is vital to give you a stable shooting platform.

Once you've narrowed it down to a particular make (all 3 are excellent) look at their range to see what suits your needs. One important factor: Don't necessarily go for the most expensive one that fits your budget - it's often better to go for a cheaper body with a better lens. A better camera doesn't necessarily make one a better photographer, trust me!

Happy shopping and be careful not to get bitten by the bug - taking photography seriously can cost more than a lifetime's worth of layouts!

In case you wonder if I'm qualified to give advice: I have 2 books with my name below the title. (REALLY successful photographers have their name at the top!)

Good luck!

dannyboy

Quote from: Markthetog on November 26, 2020, 11:18:19 AM

In case you wonder if I'm qualified to give advice: I have 2 books with my name below the title. (REALLY successful photographers have their name at the top!)