oven bulb

Started by guest311, March 17, 2020, 03:25:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guest311

it's getting worse ....

the bulb in the oven has blown ...

managed to get one at local Tesco's, panic doesn't seem to have hit that aisle yet ....

but 'Made in China'....

do I need to isolate the new bulb for 14 days, wipe with antiseptic, before I can fit ?

or should I just bang it in and hope the heat kills the virus.....
SWMBO  is doing my head in, it's not as though she looks into the oven  :'(

Chuffington

You could take a chance but I would err on the side of caution and get some full Hazmat gear.

emjaybee

I too would advise caution, but for a different reason.

Question: Is it a Tesco own brand light bulb?

If the answer is yes, throw it away and buy a proprietary brand name bulb.

As an electrician by trade, I see a lot of lamp related issues, exploding LED bulbs, GU10's where the face glass falls out (surface temp. of 180degC!), bayonet cap bulbs where the glass envelope detaches leaving bare wires, E27 bulbs where the base is no thicker than BacoFoil tinfoil, GU10's fused into the holder, LED bulbs catching fire.

Almost without exception, all Supermarket/DIY store own brands.

Don't misunderstand me, pretty much all light bulbs are made in China, and all TECHNICALLY meet the required safety standards, but China will build down to a price and bend the standards to the Nth degree. The main brands Sylvania, GE, Philips, Osram, etc., are built much better, much safer, and to be honest, will last longer.

Heed my thirty years of experience or not, these are the facts as I've experienced them, nothing more. I'm all for exotic garnish', but I'd rather it wasn't broken glass in my casserole.

Here endeth today's public service broadcast.

Have a pleasant evening.

:-*
Brookline build thread:

https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50207.msg652736#msg652736

Sometimes you bite the dog...

...sometimes the dog bites you!