!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Couplings  (Read 1897 times)

Offline AltonLine

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
Couplings
« on: May 24, 2012, 10:53:58 pm »
I need help! I am new to N-Gauge and dabbled only briefly in OO when I was younger, so the subject of couplings is one I no very little about.

In short, what I need is information on recommended couplings for Graham Farish and Dapol locomotives and rolling stock. I want the ability to uncouple remotely, using either permanent magnets or electromagnets. I would be interested in using the electromagnet uncoupler made by Peco (PL-25) and Peco Elsie Couplings with NR-103 coupling lift arms. Would it be possible to fit these couplings to Farish/Dapol models?

Also, are there any alternatives I should consider?

Thanks you in advance for any help - gratefully received!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 12:20:41 am by Mustermark »

Offline Mustermark

• Trade Count: (+5)
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19989
  • Ex-pat Brit in NC
    • Mark's Model Railway
    • Awards
Re: Couplings
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2012, 12:25:56 am »
I moved this request for advice from the knowledge bank in the hope that it will be more visible and garner more helpful response here.

There have been various postings about automatic couplings for shunting etc. The new Dapol one seems to be a big hit.

Please have a go at searching the forum using the search function... I know there was a recent post by Fratton using permanent magnets with a coupling system (Dapol, if  I rcall correctly).

http://www.marksmodelrailway.com