I'm a total novice and don't really know where to start with wiring DCC.

Started by fudduk, October 25, 2017, 10:24:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fudduk

Hi all,

I'm completely new to model railways and have more or less no experience with electrics (challenge set!).  I have read the Richard Bardsley book, which has helped me to understand track laying and ballasting, however, I found it really confusing with regard to wiring.

I've spent a lot of time over the last 2 days reading articles and watching videos to do with wiring and, whilst I've learned a lot, I still feel like I really don't know what I'm doing.

I'll split this into a) what I want to do and b) what I think I know so far:

a)  In an ideal world, what I'd like to do is to run a DCC setup where I can control the locos and the turnouts from the controller.  If that's really difficult or not realistic, I could use switches for the points.

b)  I'm pretty confident that I understand about how to put in a bus wire and feeder wires to the track.  I think I've made the decision that I want to use tortoise turnout motors (or an equivalent) or an equivalent and I'm pretty confident with wiring those up to the track.  What I'm not sure about is basically everything else.  I feel like I need almost a shopping list because I'm getting lost with what I need.  It probably isn't but it feels like it's different on every website.

I feel like if I could get some clarity over what I needed to buy, I could then focus in a little on how to actually do it.  For now, there just seem to be too many options.

Thanks to anyone who has taken the time to read this.  Much appreciated.

Iain

texhorse

Hi Iain, and welcome to the forum.

While I'm certainly not an expert on wiring, first have you decided which DCC system you are going to buy?  If it's a basic set such as NCE Powercab or Digitrax, then we know where to go.