how much £££ does this hobby owe you....

Started by matt-b, June 15, 2011, 07:43:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matt-b

with all my mercig models and afew others, rake of megafrets etc... i think i`ll be pushing the £3k mark, which when i think about it, is crazy!

:NGaugeForum:

bluedepot

yeh it is mad.... i'm new to the hobby but already spent loads....

but then again, sky sports, football season tickets, alcohol, golf, flying..... whatever the hobby, they all cost a lot of money....

i do need to try and budget though!!!!

i think it's good to limit yourself to an era or region, and not buy new models that don't fit in with that just because you like them!!!! have some discipline!!! ha

tim

michael

given that its about 9 years since I took the hobby up again, I dread to think!!! thousands but as you say, other hobbys cost a lot to. For example you can buy a lot of trains for the same price as a set of golf bats  ;)

jonclox

::) ::)  If I told you  roughly how much I have spent on the hobby and 'the wife' ever read it I would probably be beaten to death so I`ll keep my mouth shut and hope to live a bit longer  ;)
John A GOM personified
N Gauge can seriously damage your wealth.
Never force things. Just use a bigger hammer
Electronically and spelling dyslexic 
Ruleoneshire
http://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=17646.0
Re: Grainge & Hodder baseboards
http://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=29659.0

EtchedPixels

It does make you realise that despite the recent price hikes the cost of models has dived versus disposable income.

In the 1970s I saved for a year for a Hornby Hymek, and that was not uncommon. There are good reasons 1960's layouts are so often branch lines with one or two locos and small stock levels. Mind you it did mean the stock was sometimes really quite spectacular because there was a lot more time per model