!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: What are you modelling?  (Read 75197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 33779
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #390 on: January 25, 2020, 03:55:32 PM »
Hi Bullmastiff1 and welcome to the forum :wave:
Track is track, regardless of whether you operate DC or DCC. I know next to nothing about DCC but if you want lights on locos permanently on you'll need to ensure all the track is powered including sidings, loops etc.
I'm sure more expansive advice will be along shortly.

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #391 on: January 27, 2020, 04:31:17 PM »
Thank you all for your replys , could you please inform me  Is there any company making a Gresley n1 locomotive ready made.
Thanks in advance.

Online Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 33779
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #392 on: January 28, 2020, 09:36:09 AM »
There is no N1 in ready to run (RTR)

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #393 on: January 28, 2020, 08:54:52 PM »
Thank you :

Offline Rockhopper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28030
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: gb
    • Instagram
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #394 on: January 31, 2020, 08:57:55 AM »
My layout is based somewhere in in the lower West Highlands, Mid to late 80's mainly.

I wanted to choose an area that could double up as the West Highland and north Northumberland as far as backscene/scenery goes.  This is to allow me to run either 80ís WH diesels or disels/units typically seen in the North East of England in the late 80/early 90s.

Offline watfordmet

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #395 on: February 18, 2020, 08:36:03 PM »
I'm not modelling in any era. So far I've 2 pacers. Blue 35, Blue 66, Class 122 DMU, 2 x 20's (1 Blue and 1 railfreight run in pairs) Cornonation class, 57xx , Network 47, Network 50, and a 37.

I'm looking forward, to a 40, XC 170 and DCC fitted 153 plus a few others and one a LMS steam train, in memory of my father. He loved the LMS .

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #396 on: February 23, 2020, 03:55:46 PM »
Hi everyone I am starting to model again after a long time, I have bought a ready made track layout I would like to know what controller for twin tracks do i need and also the power clips and wires between controller and track, also would it be better to buy dcc than dc, can dc locos run on dcc controllers? many thanks in advance.Mick.

P.S - as you can tell, i am very new to forums. thank god for my daughter

Online Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 33779
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #397 on: February 23, 2020, 04:38:17 PM »
Heck Mick - so many questions in such a small post and there aren't easy answers to many of them.
Here's my contribution.............
If you plump for DC I'd suggest either a Gaugemaster twin track or Morley twin track controller. To power the rails either solder wires to the sides of the rails or use pre-soldered fishplates available from Peco and other sources. You cannot run DC locos with a DCC controller without fitting a chip to the loco unless it's 'DCC Fitted'. Whether it's better to go DC or DCC from the start is really a matter of choice. I know very little about DCC so will let others guide you

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #398 on: February 23, 2020, 04:44:43 PM »
Thankyou for your reply.

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #399 on: February 28, 2020, 02:44:57 PM »
Hi what would be a good used n gauge controller to begin with double track.Thanks in advance .Mick.

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4617
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #400 on: February 28, 2020, 02:49:11 PM »
At £80 morleycontrollers.com Zero 2 , gaugemaster or a hammant morgan duette

Offline Bullmastiff1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • Awards
Re: What are you modelling?
« Reply #401 on: March 10, 2020, 03:05:13 PM »
Hi all

I'm still quite new to this and was wondering if anybody could help.
How do you put n gague power clips on to an existing track without removing the actual track from the board?

I bought the board with existing power clips, but they do not work, so have removed them - am now looking to replace them.

Thank you all in advance.

Mick

 

Please Support Us!
April Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Total Receipts: £30.00
Below Goal: £30.00
Site Currency: GBP
50% 
April Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal