!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Thornton Gate of the Blackpool Tramway  (Read 61553 times)

Offline Balloon_726

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
Thornton Gate of the Blackpool Tramway
« on: June 24, 2012, 11:11:38 PM »
Hello all, thought id share my new exhibition project with you, Thornton Gate.

Before you read on, please bear in mind that this project is only about 50% finished and the photos uploaded are of the early work and not the end product!

Right.... I've been modelling BR modern image in 00 for about 10 years now, and few years back I showed my former 00 exhibition layout Headington Junction. Well a lot has changed since then, graduating from Uni being one of them!

I have for a while now wanted to get back onto the exhibition scene, but was getting tired of 00, and really felt i wanted to do something new and very different.... the answer, DCC fitted Blackpool Trams in N gauge! What a challenge!

Ive never been a tram or bus fan so this was something very new, I did however in 2007 have an opportunity to visit Cleveleys, and whilst there I visited the P'way sidings at Thornton Gate. Enginnering sidings have always interested me and so I took a few photos, not really thinking i would one day build a layout based on them.... In many ways im glad i did take these shots, as the next time I visited the area, April of this year (2012) it had all but gone as Thornton Gate had been upgraded along with the rest of the Blackpool tramway.

(Sorry, but you are not allowed to access the gallery)

Above: Views of the p'way yard at Thornton Gate as it was in 2007