!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Decoders for a Farish 350  (Read 562 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Decoders for a Farish 350
« on: December 08, 2019, 02:18:31 AM »
I am looking at putting a Zimo decoder into a Farish 350, however as both end carriages also require a decoder I was looking at putting Lais decoders into these to save a few $.

Does anyone have any experience of doing this or something similar? Can you set all 3 decoders to the same address for example?

thanks
Graham

Offline jpendle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23638
  • Posts: 1797
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 03:06:32 AM »
Yes you can put different decoders in the end cars and set all 3 to the same address.

Regards,

John P
Check out my layout thread.

Contemporary NW (Wigan Wallgate and North Western)

https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=39501.msg476247#msg476247

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7135
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2019, 07:25:37 AM »
That’s the exact combo I use. If you’re happy to have a pair of units always coupled as an 8-car you only need 4 decoders (avoiding them in the ‘middle’ cabs), which is slightly better than three in 4 coaches!

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2019, 07:47:34 AM »
thanks very much gents, with 3 x 350's & 3 x 220's plus HST's this will make a significant saving, only things to worry about now are the Eurostars.

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7135
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2019, 08:56:21 AM »
Plenty of room in the dummy of a Eurostar for a Lais too - in the void not occupied by the motor. Then just use a Digitrax DKN163K0b (IIRC) in the powered one. Worst part is trying to get the body back on, as they’re a bit fatter than the stock PCBs.

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2019, 10:44:25 PM »
thanks for the advice, greatly appreciated. Still dithering over the Eurostars as I had the body off one and remember it was a fair b***g*r to get off and even worse getting it back on.

cheers
Graham

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7135
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2019, 11:08:15 PM »
Body should be easy to remove, just watch the yellow body side strips, and remove the nose first (it just pulls off).

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2019, 05:56:26 AM »
well, just ordered some of the LAIS decoders, lets see how this goes.

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2019, 12:42:13 AM »
thanks @njee20 and @jpendle for your advice, now have a couple of HST's and Voyagers up and running with Lais chips for the lights and Zimo for the motor, running an absolute treat. Did find the lais chips rather chunky when trying to plug them into the sockets just have to be careful.

cheers
Graham

Offline Graham

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20459
  • Posts: 869
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Modelling modern image
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2020, 04:08:46 AM »
Body should be easy to remove, just watch the yellow body side strips, and remove the nose first (it just pulls off).
thanks for the advice @njee20 i now have a decoder in a Eurostar and running, still have to do a few cv changes to get it running how i want but we are progressing.
On the dummy loco, i have just been looking at putting a decoder in this and wondered did you have to add resistors to the LED's or did you just connect them straight to the decoder?

Online njee20

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22598
  • Posts: 7135
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Decoders for a Farish 350
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2020, 06:31:14 AM »
Im pretty sure I added resistors, but it was a long time ago! Logic tells me they’d be needed if you use a normal decoder. There’s tonnes of room with no motor though.

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £71.00
Above Goal: £11.00
Site Currency: GBP
118% 
September Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal