!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: IR sensors for train detection and colour light signals  (Read 237 times)

Offline daveylad

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
IR sensors for train detection and colour light signals
« on: January 30, 2019, 08:14:22 AM »
Please forgive me if this question has been asked before but I am new to this topic.  I am considering using an Arduino and IR sensors to control 3 aspect signals and need a little information.  The first question I have is about the IR sensors themselves.  How big are the actual sensors?  The reason I ask is that I have already laid my track and Fitting the sensors may be a bit tricky.  The second question is the type of Arduino I need.  I was looking at the Arduino Uno and wondered if that would do the job.  I know my questions are a little vague but any info from anyone would be very much appreciated.  Also any links (If that is allowed) to manufactures that people have dealt with for similar projects.

Thank you

Daveylad

Offline ntpntpntp

• Awards
Re: IR sensors for train detection and colour light signals
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2019, 09:14:18 AM »
I've not played with arduino based projects like yours, but I do use Heathcote Electronics' IR-DOT detectors and these use 3mm LED-sized transmitter and receiver, so a "pair of eyes" sits in the middle between the rails and between a pair of sleepers. 

https://www.heathcote-electronics.co.uk/

They're quite unobtrusive actually.  Here's a cruel zoom-in!

Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Offline rhysapthomas

• Awards