!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Coniston  (Read 10520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #360 on: June 14, 2019, 09:27:10 AM »
Do not disturb flowerbed

Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #361 on: June 14, 2019, 10:43:15 AM »
I agree flowers are more attractive but also more challenging. Yours looks very good. I remember elaborate floral displays in municipal parks in the 1960s and 1970s, at least.
Not sure about more challenging. Iím thinking doing it with flowers would be much easier. Trying to arrange tiny stones to form letters in such a tiny space would be, I think, very difficult.
But.....worth a try Chris.

If you were to seal the grass/flock with, say, a matt varnish first, then the paint wouldn't soak in so you could use a fairly thick, gloopy, paint dotted on and the dots might well adequately resemble the stones.

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #362 on: June 14, 2019, 10:48:10 AM »
how are you doing with plans for modelling Broughton-in-Furness and torver chris ?

Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #363 on: June 14, 2019, 11:11:55 AM »
how are you doing with plans for modelling Broughton-in-Furness and torver chris ?

Crikey, give us a chance, I've still got lots to do on Coniston first - granted, very little on the scenic side bar all the little details to bring it to life but I've still a fair bit to do on the electrickery and operating side.

All I've done so far on the others is mull a few ideas over with regards to how I could set out the boards, probably using a single fiddle yard that could be connected to any one of them as I mentioned the other day but I still have to determine quite how to "tap" into the existing Coniston layout to get a line coming out to go to Torver. I'm guessing that I'll have to use a Y point in the curve just beyond the bridge at the southern end but haven't looked at locations an ease if access yet.

BTW, you missed out Woodland - if I do do more of the line that one is a must since, although it was a small station it was a block post and where up & down trains could cross. Torver wasn't.

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #364 on: June 14, 2019, 11:23:02 AM »
thanks for the update

Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #365 on: June 15, 2019, 06:25:56 PM »
A few more little jobs jobbed today.

Firstly, I've made the replacement coal yard office - with more in keeping slate walls;



It still needs some detritus and/or other stuff to hide the join with the ground but it looks better then the totally wrong stone one I had before. I also have to sort the boards to aid vehicles crossing the slate wharf siding to access the coal yard.

The ash pit is no longer a bottomless slot in the baseboard. Unfortunately, that means that the crews should dig out the ash when they've used it, a little retraining required methink, before it overflows,


And the turntable now has fences to stop bods falling into the pit, and handles for the crews to push when they want to turn their charge. It's also been given a coat of dirty black, and might get some rust sometime too.


I then turned my mind towards uncoupling, along the lines of this thread from a few years ago;
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=30657.0

The test wagon worked pretty well but I need to assess the best vehicles to put the magnets on for the most reliable results, since I have a right old mix of Peco Elsies, Farish swan-necks, Farish sprung Rapidos, Minitrix Rapidos and Lima Rapidos, plus whatever they are on the current Farish Stanier coaches and the Union Mills locos.

Neither the swan necks on my older Farish coaches nor those on the current Staniers will lift high enough using the magnets so I need to persevere with fitting the locos. Initially I wasn't having much success but I think that was partly down to the magnets I have being slightly too large and partially fouling the coupling opening. I managed to get ones working on both ends of the Jinty, which seems to have a little more space behind the coupling and I've ordered smaller magnets to try on the rest.

Having reached an impasse on that I decided to take the bottom off the Jinty to see if I could see why it was runnign so judderingly. I almost wish I hadn't as it was a real pain to get back together. I hadn't expected individual axleboxes running in real hornguides, even though they aren't sprung so don't go up and down - but they were a right pain to get refitted.
Still don't know what was causing the rough running, but it's gone so I'm happy.

Looks like I got the points switching reliably in pairs now - an extra 2200 microfarad capacitor added to the CDU, initially using croc clip leads, seemed to do the trick so that's been hard wired on now.

Further pictorial updates are likely to be more sporadic now since there isn't much significant work at present that will justify photos. I don't think pics of my soldering will be particularly inspiring   :o

« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 06:32:02 PM by chrism »

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #366 on: June 15, 2019, 06:34:17 PM »
Absolutely stunning. Chris. Am headhng out so will add commeots. Thank you for the photos. Chris

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #367 on: June 15, 2019, 11:08:00 PM »
chris, thanks for posting photos of the replacement coal yard office and ashpit, beautifully modelled

Offline port perran

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 10448
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #368 on: June 16, 2019, 08:06:32 AM »
Splendid modelling Chris.
If it looks right then it most probably is right.


Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #369 on: June 19, 2019, 02:43:16 PM »
A little update to show that I haven't been idle, nor just "playing trains".

I've now got the relays circuit board completed and tested ready to put into the control panel when I remake that. The relays are to drive LEDs indicating the points settings, latching type so they "remember" the settings even if the power's turned off and tripped by a tap on a point stud. One is slightly modified to give a red/green indication as to whether the reversing wye polarity is correct for the point setting. I'll be remaking the control panel because it needs tidying up anyway and because I still hope to be able to get the signals operational so I'll need places for the switches for them.

As to the signals, I've had a few thoughts, one of which involves preventing SPADs. My thought is to have the signals set to "clear" by means of a solenoid controlled by a sprung toggle switch so they can't be left on for too long. I've had a further thought that I could isolate the track in advance of a signal and make those switches double pole so that clearing a signal also feeds power to the track - i.e. forget to clear the signal and the train stops. Obviously, that'd be a PITA if I'm just testing things, running in a loco or whatever so I've ordered double throw centre off switches with the spring return on one of the directions only. thus I can operate with the signals moving and the track only being powered when clear or throw the switches the other way to just power the track. I'll have to give thought to trains approaching from the back of a signal, possibly some diodes will fix that, i.e the track is always powered for trains coming out of the section protected by the signal but only powered for trains entering if the switch is thrown to clear the signal or for testing. Should be fun.

In the meantime, I've now received the new supply of magnets and fitted all my stock where possible so, in theory, I can uncouple and work the station correctly instead of a fake roundy roundy. In practice, I need a lot of practice at stopping trains in the right place  :D

Now, whilst I've been waiting for bits to arrive I've revisited this question.
how are you doing with plans for modelling Broughton-in-Furness and torver chris ?

I've been waving a tape measure around and fiddling with track plans and it would appear that (with a little modeller's licence) I can fit Torver into 6' x 2'6", Woodland into 6' x 2' and Broughton into 7'4" x 2'6", including a small fiddle yard behind each. I had intended to build them with a common fiddle yard to only be put on the back of the end one furthest from Coniston, depending how many I connect up. However, doing that would mean a nasty double reverse curve between stations (certainly coming off Coniston as that's already built) and also the possibility of a train arriving at one whilst the back was still in the previous one, yuk.

However, by including a loop at the back I could send a train out of, say, Coniston and it'd run around the back of Coniston, across to the Torver Board, along the back of Torver and round into the station - then it'd go around the back of Torver, cross to the Woodland board, along the back and round into the station, etc., etc. The only downside is that all the stations would be in geographically the wrong order but I can live with that, especially in view of the next paragraph.

By doing it this way and with that above board dimensions I reckon that I can fit all four into my spare room, almost the entire Coniston Railway in one room !!!! 


I'd even have just enough room to get to the back of Coniston should there be any mishaps in the fiddle yard. Wouldn't need room behind the others because they'd be narrow enough to reach across.
To include Foxfield, however, I'd have to buy the house next door and break through the wall, I don't think I'll bother with that  :D

My thoughts then wandered a little further, to should I decide (or be invited) to take it to any exhibitions. With different  linking bridges between the boards they could also be set up in a square arrangement, approx. 14' square, with the operator(s) in the middle and the viewing sides to the outside;


or, even, all in a straight line, although that'd be some 28' long;


I'd also need a bigger car to get them all in  :D

Still, food for thought.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 02:44:36 PM by chrism »

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #370 on: June 19, 2019, 03:07:25 PM »
thanks chris.

can you fit the torver,woodland and broughton boards into your car or they going to stay at home ?

Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #371 on: June 19, 2019, 03:39:39 PM »
thanks chris.

can you fit the torver,woodland and broughton boards into your car or they going to stay at home ?

Assuming that I do do the lot, I'd do them each in two halves anyway so they'd definitely fit individually.
I wouldn't have to take up so much height for any of them, unlike Coniston with the ground below track level and that above, so it might prove possible to get two or, even, three of them in, depending on the other paraphernalia (legs or tables, control panels, cables, rolling stock, etc., etc.) needed.
I'd estimate that the baseboards would individually be between 1/3 and 1/2 the height of Coniston depending on what of the scenery/buildings can be made removable. Additionally, they'd be narrower so it'd be possible to stack some flat and some on edge beside them or in front of or behind the stack. In retrospect I think I did overengineer Coniston too  :-[

It's certainly not a goer to get any of them in as well as Coniston, I do know that. Coniston is definitely a full car, to the extent of taking up the passenger footwell as well as all the luggage area with the rear seats folded down. The three baseboards stacked fit in through the tailgate aperture with about half an inch to spare, heightwise. If I needed to take much more other stuff than I did taking Coniston down to the clubhouse I'd need to put stuff on the passenger seat as well  :D

One might think there could have been a bit of bad planning but, of course, I never anticipated at the outset getting on so quickly with Coniston so had never considered doing the others as well.

Online crewearpley40

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2836
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #372 on: June 19, 2019, 04:11:28 PM »
keep up the good work on your journey. thank you

Offline DarrwestLU6

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28089
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting back into N after a long break!
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #373 on: June 20, 2019, 12:37:21 AM »
Looks like an excellent plan!

Online chrism

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Coniston
« Reply #374 on: July 29, 2019, 10:09:12 AM »
As reported on The Coniston Railway thread, having got the track laid on Torver and moved into the testing phase, I've returned to Coniston to attend to a few outstanding jobs.

The first was to rewire some of the uncoupler solenoids. I originally intended to stick the little bits of metal under the couplings, but have changed my mind and stuck tiny magnets underneath instead. These have proved both more reliable and easier to use, in most cases. However, I found that they generally worked better using a 12v dc supply instead of 16v ac. There were three uncouplers that I was still having trouble using reliably, the reason becoming clear when I added a drop of white paint on the magnet fitted couplings - those three uncouplers were pulling the coupling down instead of pushing it up. When run off an ac supply it didn't matter but using a dc supply it does, so I've had to swap the wires on those uncouplers to make them repel instead of attract the magnets. They work much better now.

I then turned my attenton to one uncoupler that had stopped working - upon testing, I found that it was the switch at fault, not the solenoid nor wiring - no problem, the switch will be replaced when I complete and install the mkII mimic board and control panel.

Next, I started playing with the signals - well, one of them to start with. Hooray, I now have a signal that flaps down and up when I operate or release a switch, complete with an anti-SPAD function.

The signal is operated by a length of fine brass wire hooked onto the spectacle plate and running down beside the post to drop under the baseboard. Underneath, the wire is bent through 90 degrees and fits through a wire loop attached to the end of a little 4mm travel solenoid. when the solenoid is energised it pushes the wire, and spectacle plate, up thereby lowering the signal arm. When the power is removed, the solenoid is pulled back by means of a spring, pulling the spectacle plate down and returning the signal to danger. It still needs some tweaking to get the signal travel correct (it tends to return to a bit above the horizontal) and to improve the source power. 12v dc gives rather too vicious a movement and my Gaugemaster controller 12 dc uncontrolled output isn't particularly well smoothed so, for the time being I've got the signal working off a 9v battery.

The anti-SPAD function is a 6" section of track in front of the signal on which I've isolated the positive rail from the rest of the line and wired it into the signal switch. This is a double pole double throw centre off switch with a spring return on one of the throws only. One set of poles operates the signal whilst the other set connects the isolated track section to the rest of the track. Thus, the power is only fed to the track when the signal is set to clear. I have a diode in the circuit to allow trains to pass the signal from the back unimpeded, e.g. for arrivals where the signal is to control departures.
The signal is only operated by the sprung throw of the switch, whilst the track power is connected on both throws. This means that a) the signal solenoid is only energised when the signal needs to be cleared (and the switch has to be held down for that) but that b) the track can be permanently powered by setting the switch to the unsprung throw.
The latter allows for testing, just playing or for allowing a signal to be passed during shunting movements - particularly important when I do the signals at the southern end of the station since there's only room for a loco and 4 or 5 wagons between the advance starter signal and the goods yard entrance points. It was not, AFAIK, unprototypical for a shunting movement to be allowed to pass a signal at danger provided that it didn't pass the limit of shunt and that the signalman hadn't accepted a train into the block section affected.

Now I have the prototype powered signal installed, and once I've done the final tweaking, I can apply the same principle to the other seven. The entrance to the station could be fun, with five signals adjacent to each other controlling movements in both directions and with three of them being on a three-doll bracket post.

Before I do the other signals, though, I'm turning my attentions to some rather more drastic work - ripping up some track at both ends of the fiddle yard to insert points for the exits to Torver. While I'm around that side of (and underneath) the layout I've also got a dodgy power feed in one of the fiddle yard roads that I need to investigate and rectify.

That little lot will keep me busy while I'm testing Torver  ;)





 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £30.00
Below Goal: £25.00
Site Currency: GBP
55% 
September Donations