!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: GWR County Tank  (Read 758 times)

Online Snowwolflair

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25174
  • 2mm Association Number: 4194
    • Awards
GWR County Tank
« on: November 20, 2018, 01:09:27 AM »
With most of my other projects in the paint shop it's time to start something new.

This is a project I have been contemplating for four years in the hope of obtaining a Graham Hughes kit. (If anyone would like to part with one I would give it a good home)

Regardless, there is another option which involves a degree of butchery and reconstruction of other similar GWR loco parts, and in this it is fortunate that the GWR reused boilers and other parts in various engine designs.

First things first - the chassis and mechanism.

I realised some time ago that the Farish V2 rear drive wheel spacing and wheel diameter were the correct size and as the v2 mechanism is gear drive to the middle wheel set loosing the front driver pair would not affect running.  This is assisted by the absence of traction tyres.  So to the first bit of butchery which I have completed but not tided up yet to cut off the front to a point where the front bogie can be hinged.  A donor front bogie probably from a Jubilee is perfect.

Here is stage one after the rough cuts and so far so good.