!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Mallingford Combe  (Read 1554 times)

Offline JohnChell

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
Mallingford Combe
« on: January 31, 2016, 11:26:32 PM »
The Story so far....

"Mallingford Combe" is a former exhibition layout that I purchased on ebay as an introduction to N model railways. It comes in 3 sections measures approximately 9ft X 2ft and when set up is slightly curved so that the operator can stand behind the layout with two "wings" one to either side.

I am a novice with little time and even less knowledge, however it is my ambition to rework and refurbish this layout to the point where it can once again be exhibited. I know very little about how to go about exhibiting, but I have joined Scunthorpe Model Railway Club to get help and advice with getting the layout back to an acceptable standard, and I have a campervan which is big enough to move the layout in, and that I am happy to sleep in.

When I purchased it was cosmetically somewhat tired various knocks, dents & scratches however I did see it running, at this time it was named "Ramsey Junction". It had initially been built by the Tendering Hundred Model railway club in Essex and I purchased the layout from a club member in Clacton. I understand that Ramsey Junction was not the layouts original name, and that it had originally been envisaged as a model of an American logging station, before being adapted to become a Scot Rail layout. Mallingford Combe is thus the 3rd "regeneration" of this layout.

Mallingford Combe Station viewed from the signal box.