!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units  (Read 12147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline REGP

  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19246
  • Posts: 1228
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2014, 04:51:06 PM »
Thanks E.P. and Only Me.

Now all I need is to find a source for the DZ1251N

I got a Farish 101 to do as well, will the Bachmann Chip be OK in the Trailer for that or will I need another DZ?

Ray

Offline Only Me

  • Western Destroyer
  • NGF Technician
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23206
  • Posts: 5978
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Loco Repairs - Direct message me
    • Northants & Cambs Area Group of the NGS
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2014, 04:59:48 PM »
Bachmann fine in farish 101, loads of room

Offline REGP

  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19246
  • Posts: 1228
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2014, 05:49:26 PM »
Thanks to your combined advice I  have done it.

2 Dapol HSTs and a Farish 101 fitted with Lenz Silver Minis  in the motorised units with DZ125IN in HST trailers and an EZ  36 558A in the 101 trailer.

Using a Sprog had to programme all the trailer chips in the motorised units.

Your right Sparky it was a    :censored:   to get the bodies of the 101.

Even got the lights working correctly thanks to remarks in another thread about the switches underneath the 101, which I hadn't realised were there.

Now to have a look at their performance.

Ray

Offline RizUK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2014, 08:44:20 PM »
Okay,

Is it worth getting the multiple unit chips fitted by a shop and paying the money. I've just got a class 101 from Graham farish and a couple of DZ126IN chips and I can find no safe way without putting the fear of god into me that I am going to break it of getting the body away from the chassis on either the power or dummy car.

I love the way it says in the instructions to pull the body away from the chassis. It seems like I need pliers for the chassis and some form of vice for the body. Is there a trick to it or is it really as hard as people say?

Andy

Offline Only Me

  • Western Destroyer
  • NGF Technician
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23206
  • Posts: 5978
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Loco Repairs - Direct message me
    • Northants & Cambs Area Group of the NGS
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2014, 08:49:51 PM »
(Sorry, but you are not allowed to access the gallery)
You need to put a fingernail between the chassis and body, they are just very tight on either side and they are difficult to disconnect!!  So start at one end, insert finger nail and move along towards the other end, lifting the body as you go..

If you are not comftable doing it then send it to a competent shop, however it is pretty easy once youve done it once or twice...

Heres a picture of one with body removed!

« Last Edit: June 29, 2014, 08:53:58 PM by Only Me, Reason: F »

Offline REGP

  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19246
  • Posts: 1228
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2014, 09:11:17 PM »
Hi Riz, Only Me is right.

I took his advice and managed to do it despite being ham fisted, so I am sure you can.

You need to wiggle a finger nail between the body and chassis and slowly ease them apart all it takes is perseverance.

You are on a winner to start with because you got the correct chips (I didn't).

Ray

Offline bees

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28138
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Ebay
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2014, 06:25:35 AM »
......just a little suggestion for getting inside models, i use plectrums, they are extremely cheap, from music shops, obviously! Strong enough to do the job,but won't damage the body.
I agree, getting inside the 101, 108 & 150's is such a great pain in the proverbial!

Steven
I like to start each day the same, sit up and take a deep breath!
First objective for the day achieved, woohoo!!!

Offline DCCDave

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • N gauge transition era DCC
    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Google+
    • MySpace
    • PhotoBucket
    • Twitter
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2014, 08:08:46 AM »
......just a little suggestion for getting inside models, i use plectrums, they are extremely cheap,
Steven

Top tip, thanks Steve  :thumbsup:

Cheers
Dave

Offline Malc

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21878
  • Posts: 4813
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #23 on: July 29, 2014, 11:12:52 AM »
I use an old credit card to get ithe covers off. Use fingernail first, then credit card. Saves it snapping back on when you move along.
The years have been good to me, it was the weekends that did the damage.

Offline JayM481

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28771
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: ca
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2015, 09:01:10 PM »
Ressurecting this, as I'm quite a newbie to model railroads in general, and DCC in particular.

I recently aquired a Farish Midland Pullman. Truly wonderful model, quiet motors and gorgeous detail (from my perspective at least). As I run DCC mostly, I decided to try adding decoders, starting with the Bachmann 6-pin ones (the newer model in blue shrink). I'll need to do some speed adjustment as the two power cars have significant difference running forward, though not as much in reverse. I think I can manage that.

My problem is the lighting. Obviously when travelling "forward" I want the lead car to have white lights on and trail car the red light and vice versa in "reverse." I've used NCE's "consist" buttons to get the two power cars to work together in an advanced consist, but the lighting doesn't seem to work - the lead car shows white light "forward" but I need to cycle the light button to get the red when "reverse" and the tail car shows no lighting at all. I think I'm missing programming some CVs, but so far I'm baffled. I also have this problem with lighting on a US outline set I have, which I suspect is the same issue - programming some lighting CVs.

Any advice? I'm using a power cab by the way.

Offline Only Me

  • Western Destroyer
  • NGF Technician
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23206
  • Posts: 5978
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Loco Repairs - Direct message me
    • Northants & Cambs Area Group of the NGS
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2015, 09:25:19 PM »
What you do is programme both the chips the same including the address, then when you put them back to back the lights work correctly, the cvs are the same etc, however you may then need to speed match!

Offline JayM481

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28771
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: ca
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #26 on: November 16, 2015, 09:54:03 PM »
I would have thought programming both the same would result in them running in opposite directions?

Offline Caz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23044
  • Posts: 5359
  • Country: es
  • Gender: Female
  • Fairford Branch ticket 1958
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #27 on: November 17, 2015, 10:21:01 AM »
No, the Blue Pullman trailer car is wired up to run in reverse so you don't need to change the chip setting for the trailer as you do with most double chipped DMU's.   ;)

Offline JayM481

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 28771
  • Posts: 259
  • Country: ca
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #28 on: November 17, 2015, 01:26:32 PM »
No, the Blue Pullman trailer car is wired up to run in reverse so you don't need to change the chip setting for the trailer as you do with most double chipped DMU's.   ;)

I'd read about that, but when I was running them in on DC I had to flip the blanking plug over to get the tail car to run back-to-back with the lead car. I also need to speed match, which I don't think you can do if both chips have the same address?

I have an idea I'll try. If it works I'll post the result.

Offline Only Me

  • Western Destroyer
  • NGF Technician
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23206
  • Posts: 5978
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Loco Repairs - Direct message me
    • Northants & Cambs Area Group of the NGS
    • Awards
Re: Guidance Requested when Chipping Multiple Units
« Reply #29 on: November 17, 2015, 01:57:13 PM »
Jay, no offence intended here, but you ask those of us who have been into DCC for years advice, we give it to you freely and then you contradict the advice? - We wouldn't deliberately give you duff information (well unless its a Friday or Saturday evening and been on the sauce ;) )

You can use JMRI or Railroad & Co or some such to create a loco roster on your computer for each of your DCC locos then you adjust the speed curve of each power unit, it is irrelevant about the DCC address when programming a speed curve, if however all you have is a simple DCC controller then adjusting the speed curve will be time consuming (PS JMRI is freeware! :) )

However if you need to have each loco have a different address, then so be it programme the addresses, set the speed curves so they match as closely as you can get them, then set one to run the motor in reverse (Adding 1 to value of CV29 will cause loco to run in opposite direction), then create a consist of the two units.

« Last Edit: November 17, 2015, 02:01:07 PM by Only Me »

 

Please Support Us!
July Goal: £60.00
Due Date: Jul 31
Total Receipts: £45.00
Below Goal: £15.00
Site Currency: GBP
75% 
July Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal