!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: layout wiring  (Read 569 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tengah74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
layout wiring
« on: November 10, 2013, 10:22:26 PM »
Trying to source a supply suitable wiring to operate points (  Seep) etc. I have read all the website info and with eBay , but do any of you guys know of a source of 8 or 10 strand cable that could be suitable for said wiring. In days gone by I use this type of cable, split down to give numerous colour coded wire. Also am I right in saying that the max amperage that would be used will be around 3 amps?
Thanks
Tengah 74

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+63)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 29988
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: layout wiring
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 11:28:36 PM »
I tend to use these guys for reels of cable as they are cheaper than most and their service is excellent.

http://www.rapidonline.com/

 I do not recommend you buy pre-packed stuff in, for example, 10 metre lengths as (a) it's gone before you know it and (b) it's expensive.

Offline Bob Wild

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: layout wiring
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2013, 11:49:16 PM »
and I use Maplin with all the colours to choose from:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/equipment-wire-16-0.2-6197

ParkeNd

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: layout wiring
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2013, 09:52:22 AM »
Squires.

Offline trainsdownunder

  • Sadly Passed Away
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1995
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
Re: layout wiring
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2014, 10:05:49 AM »
I have used CAT 5 cable without problems for my turnout controls in the past. 8 core in 4 x 2 twisted pair. You should be able obtain it from most local computer/IT suppliers - ask for their left overs as a box will cost around 50. Avoid Long "patch" leads with the end cut off, not as good.

 

Please Support Us!
December Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Dec 31
Total Receipts: £265.00
Above Goal: £210.00
Site Currency: GBP
482% 
December Donations


Advertise Here