!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: displaying models  (Read 949 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline matt-b

  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 429
    • Awards
displaying models
« on: July 17, 2011, 11:18:10 PM »
how do people display there models when there not in use?
on a little piece of track?
be interested to see what people use, just to see.... have alittle idea  :)

 :NGaugeForum:
« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 11:19:57 PM by matt-b »

Offline poliss

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1647
  • Country: md
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 01:03:10 AM »
I would display mine in a cabinet but I'm married. :-(

Offline longbridge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3678
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2011, 03:15:40 AM »
I keep all my locos and stock in a cabinet in the original boxes with locos standing vertical.
Keep on Smiling
Dave.

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 34443
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2011, 08:14:11 AM »
Sorry. All mine are stuffed into the side of a wardrobe.
Yes - I'm single so have wardrobe space! Now y'all need that envy button, eh?

Offline upnick

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2917
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2011, 09:13:01 AM »
I combine both    some   locos are in their original boxes   on  the wardrobe top    shelf &    others especially my   FLM / U.S. HO   locos are in   a display cabinet  ..................    yes i  am  single  as well    :)

Found an emoticon for envy    .......... 

Offline Tank

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+30)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7495
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2011, 10:04:01 AM »
Mine are stored out of their boxes, but in the sponge trays that you see for sale on eBay/Exhibitions/Model Shops.  Then I put those into crates.  It used to be very organised with loco's in one box, carriages in another, and goods wagons in the third - but is now a complete mess!

Offline tadpole

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 978
  • Country: scotland
    • Ebay
    • Facebook
    • PhotoBucket
    • Awards
Re: displaying models
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2011, 11:08:47 AM »
Mine are displayed in my study in wall cabinets about a metre wide. I have attached (and ballasted!) double track to 1m long lengths of balsa wood. Each shelf can hold a loco + 4 coaches. I have one for trains and three for EFE buses.

I'm also thinking of making a little depot diorama for displaying locos, and wondering if I could make this a portable "module" which could go up to the attic as and when I feel like it, to be attached to a headshunt on my main layout. In real life Pirmasens couldn't justify a depot, but I do seem to have locos lurking in the sidings most the time, and it would be nice if they could have a proper home in which to lurk.
Two rails good. Three better.

 

Please Support Us!
May Goal: £60.00
Due Date: May 31
Total Receipts: £95.00
Above Goal: £35.00
Site Currency: GBP
158% 
May Donations

anything
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal