!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue  (Read 333 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jpendle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23638
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« on: March 13, 2019, 03:24:17 AM »
Hi,

I have already successfully chipped a Dapol 68 with a Zimo (non sound) Next18 decoder, and as I had a second decoder to hand I thought I'd get a second one up and running.

Trouble is that this one doesn't work properly. As soon as I plugged it into the socket and put the loco on my programming track, the cab lights came on at both ends.

I started setting CV's and the switches on the Dapol PCB but after completing all the steps in @JTHJTH's instructions the lights were still on. The other light functions seemed to work OK and the loco runs backwards and forwards as it should.

I decided to do a decoder reset. ( I am using a Z21 and an IPAD) So I selected the decoder reset function on the Z21 app. This started to run (the green programming light came on on the Z21 box) and the cab lights immediately turned off. BUT as soon as I stopped the reset and returned to 'normal' mode on the Z21 (blue light) the cab lights came on again.

So is this a bad decoder, or is there some obscure CV somewhere that can be changed to get the relevant function outputs to turn off?

BTW I took the working decoder from my first loco and tried it in the'new' chassis and everything worked fine, so its not the loco.

I also have some more decoders on order but I was told that they are on backorder at the moment so it will be a while before I can try these out.

Thanks,

John P

Offline longbow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: Yes
  • 2mm Association Number: Yes
  • Posts: 633
  • Country: au
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 08:59:35 AM »
According to the Zimo manual the hard reset to default values is non-standard. Try setting CV8=0 directly rather than using the Z21 app. 

Offline jpendle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23638
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 01:56:00 PM »
The Zimo app wonít let me set CV8 to 0 manually, Iím assuming that the apps reset decoder button is doing just that as it does set the CVís to the defaults.

Regards,

John P

Offline DCCDave

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 911
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2019, 02:08:59 PM »
The Zimo app wonít let me set CV8 to 0 manually, Iím assuming that the apps reset decoder button is doing just that as it does set the CVís to the defaults.

Regards,

John P

I've always set CV8=8 to reset.

CV8 is read only, most software traps the attempt to set CV8 and instead does the a separate reset call, perhaps the Z21 app is looking for the value 8 too?

Cheers
Dave

Offline jpendle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23638
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2019, 02:10:22 PM »
I meant 8, the app traps all values.

John P

Offline longbow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: Yes
  • 2mm Association Number: Yes
  • Posts: 633
  • Country: au
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2019, 07:54:16 PM »
Per Zimo, CV8=8 (the NMRA standard) resets to the values of the last hard reset whilst CV8=0 (Zimo only) resets to default as per the operating manual.

Offline jpendle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23638
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2019, 01:43:24 AM »
Thanks all.

This is fixed, I had tried to just program those CVís that I felt were relevant.

Big mistake!!!!!

I hadnít set CV 124 correctly so outputs 3 & 4 were still set to SUSI, rather than as function outputs. Iíd also forgotten CV 119 to get the cab lights to dim on F6.

Regards,

John P

Offline DCCDave

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 911
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Yet another Zimo Decoder issue
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2019, 08:25:12 AM »
Per Zimo, CV8=8 (the NMRA standard) resets to the values of the last hard reset whilst CV8=0 (Zimo only) resets to default as per the operating manual.

Well you learn something every day.

Thanks longbow,
Dave

 

Please Support Us!
July Goal: £160.00
Due Date: Jul 31
Total Receipts: £65.00
Below Goal: £95.00
Site Currency: GBP
41% 
July Donations


Advertise Here
anything