!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Bachmann Class 40  (Read 27689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Roy L S

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1819
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #210 on: April 15, 2018, 02:55:22 PM »
Noticed that too, a proper job, they should be fine.

Bodes well for future releases and any re-releases of existing models hopefully.

Roy

Offline bluedepot

  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2598
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #211 on: April 15, 2018, 04:03:12 PM »
one of the most interesting things about this fantastic sound fitted one is the brake function - I think that's how they should all operate in the future and in all scales.

a few times now I've spooled up the engines and forgotten to release f2 though so takes getting used to.


Tim

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+63)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 31496
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #212 on: April 15, 2018, 04:52:27 PM »
I've noted with mine that when it's travelling round the 10˝-11" curves you can see the brass contacts on top of the bogie :hmmm:

Offline mr bachmann

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #213 on: April 24, 2018, 06:51:54 PM »
any split gears yet ???

Bachmann have used white nylon gears which shouldn't split

careful , white gears fitted to early Backy USA loco's did not last as long as GF's ....

Online Dr Al

  • Trade Count: (+49)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4671
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #214 on: April 24, 2018, 08:01:53 PM »
careful , white gears fitted to early Backy USA loco's did not last as long as GF's ....

It's already been reported that white nylon (used on some of the 3MT 2-6-2 tanks) have exhibited split gears. So they aren't immune.

Cheers,
Alan
Quote from: Roy L S
If Dr Al is online he may be able to provide a more comprehensive answer.

“We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. This is a prescription for disaster. We might get away with it for a while, but sooner or later this combustible mixture of ignorance and power is going to blow up in our faces.”Dr. Carl Sagan

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+63)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 31496
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #215 on: April 24, 2018, 09:45:23 PM »
Slightly off topic but my later class 20 (371-033) also has white gears

Offline mattspencer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #216 on: June 14, 2018, 09:25:55 PM »
Strangely on mine the F3 hi/lo horn has stopped working. All other sounds are correct? Any ideas? It used to work and I havn't changed any settings.

Offline woodbury22uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23382
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
    • Facebook
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #217 on: September 25, 2018, 11:37:06 AM »
I'm not sure if it has been mentioned before but the Farish Class 40 is a contender for best N gauge locomotive of the year in the Hornby Magazine annual survey.

https://hornbymagazine.keypublishing.com/2018/09/13/hornby-magazine-model-railway-awards-2018/
Mike

Over-user of brackets and quotation marks.

Wondering how many pedants can dance of the head of a pin.


Membre AFAN 0196

Offline Bob Tidbury

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2571
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Facebook
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #218 on: September 26, 2018, 09:17:34 AM »
Again off topic but I recently had a non running  Poole built railcar chassis and that had two axles and three intermediate white gears split so even the early one did split though in the thirty years or more that’s the first time I’ve seen it happen.
Bob Tidbury

Online Dr Al

  • Trade Count: (+49)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4671
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #219 on: September 28, 2018, 01:32:53 PM »
Again off topic but I recently had a non running  Poole built railcar chassis and that had two axles and three intermediate white gears split so even the early one did split though in the thirty years or more that’s the first time I’ve seen it happen.
Bob Tidbury

Uncommon, but not unheard of - I've seen a handful. Overall though they are generally still much more robust - fingers crossed this is true for those Bachmann have started using.

Cheers,
Alan
Quote from: Roy L S
If Dr Al is online he may be able to provide a more comprehensive answer.

“We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. This is a prescription for disaster. We might get away with it for a while, but sooner or later this combustible mixture of ignorance and power is going to blow up in our faces.”Dr. Carl Sagan

Offline oreamnos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17217
  • Posts: 418
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #220 on: May 15, 2019, 10:41:48 PM »
I'm sorry to resurrect an older thread, but...
I've got a sound fitted DCC one of these on its way to me (from Texas, of all places) but I will be running it on DC.
A couple quick questions (that I haven't already seen answered in this thread):  1.) Will it still produce any sounds when running on DC?  2.) If yes, what?

Thank you,
Matt

Online Dr Al

  • Trade Count: (+49)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4671
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #221 on: May 15, 2019, 11:46:08 PM »
1.) Will it still produce any sounds when running on DC?  2.) If yes, what?

1. Yes.
2. Normally voltage related engine noise and startup. Basically the range of DC control is reduced, with about the first half dedicated to powering up the decoder. Applying higher voltage than this will start up the loco noise and you can find a settled zero speed level where the engines will run. Increasing voltage will allow loco to move off with sound engaged.

Cheers,
Alan
Quote from: Roy L S
If Dr Al is online he may be able to provide a more comprehensive answer.

“We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. This is a prescription for disaster. We might get away with it for a while, but sooner or later this combustible mixture of ignorance and power is going to blow up in our faces.”Dr. Carl Sagan

Offline oreamnos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17217
  • Posts: 418
  • Country: us
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #222 on: May 16, 2019, 07:25:27 AM »
Thanks, Alan.  The loco arrived this evening.

With a DC blanking plug in, running on DC
1.) The loco runs fine.
2.) I didn't check the lights since I didn't reinstall the body for this test, but I expect they work fine because...

...With a non-sound DCC chip in, running on DC:
1.) The loco runs fine.
2.) The lights work fine.

However,
With the DCC sound chip in, running on DC:
1.) The sound works fine
2.) The lights work fine.
3.) But the loco does not move at all, even at full voltage.

So...
a.) I've read on this thread that the loco will not move on DCC unless the DCC brakes are released.  If the previous owner (it's a "Like New" second hand loco - and it really is "Like New" and nothing is missing) did not release the brakes on DCC before sending it to me, will that setting prevent the loco from moving when run on DC?
Or...
b.) What is standard DC voltage output from controllers in the UK?  Is it 16 volts?  In the USA (where I live) it is 12v.  Given that the sound chip requires a lot of volts just to power up and make sounds, I wonder if there is insufficient voltage here in the USA left for the motor?
Or...
c.) Is it a defective DCC sound chip?  I installed it in another Farish 40 and got the same test results as above.

The club I belong to runs DCC, so if it's "a.)" I will run it on DCC and release the brakes at our our next show (since I have no DCC at home).  If "b.)" is the problem I will just install a DC blanking plug for home use and reinstall the DCC sound chip for club running.  If c.) it doesn't really matter - to be honest I really just wanted the split head code body and the sound was just an extra that I've never had much interest in, except to amuse the crowds at shows.

Many thanks,
Matt
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 07:27:30 AM by oreamnos »

Offline longbow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: Yes
  • 2mm Association Number: Yes
  • Posts: 633
  • Country: au
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #223 on: May 16, 2019, 07:40:51 AM »
It won't be the voltage - 12V is plenty. Never heard of a DCC handbrake, but most decoders can be programmed to enable/disable DC operation. I suggest you get a fellow club member to check it over and reprogram it as needed.

Online Dr Al

  • Trade Count: (+49)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4671
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Bachmann Class 40
« Reply #224 on: May 16, 2019, 08:53:34 AM »
b.) What is standard DC voltage output from controllers in the UK?  Is it 16 volts?  In the USA (where I live) it is 12v.  Given that the sound chip requires a lot of volts just to power up and make sounds, I wonder if there is insufficient voltage here in the USA left for the motor?

Yes, also DC 12V, nothing more.

If it's like new, it should have the DCC blank in the box - I'd fit that and see if the model runs on pure DC without the decoder.

Cheers,
Alan
Quote from: Roy L S
If Dr Al is online he may be able to provide a more comprehensive answer.

“We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. This is a prescription for disaster. We might get away with it for a while, but sooner or later this combustible mixture of ignorance and power is going to blow up in our faces.”Dr. Carl Sagan

 

Please Support Us!
June Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Jun 30
Total Receipts: £60.00
Above Goal: £5.00
Site Currency: GBP
109% 
June Donations


Advertise Here
anything