DSLR Camera for modelling pics

Started by Ensign Elliott, January 26, 2024, 09:21:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ensign Elliott

Hi all - a question to the camera experts on here.

I'd like to get some better pics of my layout and weathering projects as I've been disappointed with the ones taken on my phone. I've tried some of the image stacking software which has made an improvement but I'm thinking a better camera might be the solution, used in conjunction with the image stacking. The pics of my layout taken by Chris Nevard (Model Rail) and Mike Wild (Hornby) recently are fantastic, and they used DSLR type cameras.

So, which camera would people recommend for taking up close pics of very small objects? I have zero experience in this field so any advice would be great.

Bealman

Our forum expert is Roger of Wrenton fame.
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

jamespetts

A camera with a smaller sensor will get you bigger depth of field than one with a larger sensor. I use Micro Four Thirds: some of those cameras have built-in focus stacking. Some of the cameras with built-in focus stacking are now available relatively cheaply secondhand: look for the Olympus OM-D EM-1 mark 2,for instance. Make sure to get a compatible lens. For model railways, even in N gauge, you will not need a dedicated macro lens: an ordinary lens with a good close focusing capability will suffice. Also consider the use of off-camera flash.
Peertube > Youtube

JanW

Look for a 'mirrorless' camera, all the major brands have switched to mirrorless.
A very useful feature of these cameras is focus peaking, which helps with manual focusing. The area that is in focus will be lined with a specific colour so it is very easy to place the focus exactly where you want.
A specific macro lens is very useful for the smallest details. The cheapest options often don'n have a strong telephoto view but are very useful for railway photos.