Does this loco look "jittery" to you?

Started by keiron99, January 13, 2024, 02:17:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

keiron99

I just bought a new Kato FEF steam loco this week. Looks nice.

However, (and remember I'm a beginner so don't know what to judge against), it looks unsettled on the track to me. The back of the loco - the cab area - seems to wobble up and down, as though the wheels were perhaps not sitting on the rails or a little egg shaped (they are not, as far as I can see!)

I have tried to capture it on video. I'd appreciate if someone could take a look and give me their thoughts:
Kato loco

ntpntpntp

I think I see what you mean.  Does it have traction tyres on the rear driving wheels - maybe one is not sitting on its groove properly?
It's bumping a little on the track joints, but Unitrack joints aren't always as smooth as other brands.
Nick.   2021 celebrating the 25th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50050.0

martyn

It does seem to have a bit of a wobble.

Can you run it a slowish speed and see if the wobble correlates to one revolution of the wheels, or whether it is only at track joints?

Martyn

keiron99

Quote from: ntpntpntp on January 13, 2024, 02:22:07 PMI think I see what you mean.  Does it have traction tyres on the rear driving wheels - maybe one is not sitting on its groove properly?
It's bumping a little on the track joints, but Unitrack joints aren't always as smooth as other brands.
Thanks. I took a close look. There are no traction tyres.

keiron99

Quote from: martyn on January 13, 2024, 02:33:48 PMIt does seem to have a bit of a wobble.

Can you run it a slowish speed and see if the wobble correlates to one revolution of the wheels, or whether it is only at track joints?

Martyn

Thanks, Martyn. This is just about as slow as I could run it.

I can't see any obvious pattern to it!

ntpntpntp