Class of EMU or DMU running Guildford to Waterloo - Late 70's early 80's?

Started by Croxy, November 06, 2013, 01:23:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Croxy

Looking for some information on what type would have been running between Guildford to Waterloo in the early 80's......

Thanks for any information....Mark.  :dunce:

:thankyousign:
If you like it run it......

dodger

As far as I can remember there would be 12 car cig/big/cig on the fast Portsmouths. Veps or cigs on the semifasts. The new line would probably be 4EPB or 4VEP until sufficient 455's were availiable. But Pengi could give you better infromation.

dodger

Pengi

My interest really started with the Wessex electrics so I am not an expert on the configuration of the older EMUs.

This site might help though

http://www.railworks.marleyman.co.uk/class-421-cig.html
Just one Pendolino, give it to me, a beautiful train, from Italy

Joe 90

Hi Croxy

I don't know if this website would be of help to you but it may be worth a peruse.
http://www.semgonline.com/home.html

Also I used to travel on the trains to Waterloo from Guildford then but at that time I had no interest in trains apart from why they didn't run on time and consequently they all looked the same to me.
If only I could go back in time, and with a decent digital camera.

Tank

From what I remember it was mainly 4VEP's and in times of need they used 4COR and 2BIL units.

Bob G

Hello
As a Pompey lad i can tell you the following.

Up to 1970 the Portsmouth - London fasts/semi-fasts were 4-COR/4-BUF/4-COR
Then they became 4-CIG/4-BIG/4-CIG

From 1967 the Waterloo-Bournemouth route was 4-TC/4-TC/4-REP (REPs at the London end).  These ran your route as far as Woking and then went on to Basingstoke.

Suburban routes were covered by 2-BIL or 2-NOL in various multiples again up to about 1970/71.
From then on they used 4-VEP on semi-fast services. You would also have seen the odd 4-CEP before the 4-VEPs came in, and then rarely after.