Scenery Modelling and Scenic Techniques

Started by Artisan, December 01, 2018, 08:42:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Artisan

As I am new to railway modelling could anyone recommend a good publication showing scenic techniques and scenery modelling?
Best regards
Greg

Bealman

Any popular model railway magazine will give you instructions.

The popular mag's put out how to mag's as well.

Plus there are heaps of YouTube videos out there.
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Bealman

I think Model Rail have just published a volume in their "How to build a model railway" series.
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Artisan

Quote from: Bealman on December 01, 2018, 08:52:11 AM
Any popular model railway magazine will give you instructions.

The popular mag's put out how to mag's as well.

Plus there are heaps of YouTube videos out there.

Thank you for your response. Perhaps I am a bit old school but I do like a printed publication specific to the subject I have mentioned. I know there are books out there on general railway modelling but I wondered if there was a publication that was dedicated to the subject. With regards to YouTube, I have been watching some of the videos but like I say, I do like a good book!

Best regards
Greg

bridgiesimon

Usual situtation, there are almost as many differeent processes as there are modellers hehe.

Some prefer cardboard strips on formers to make scenery or chicken wire, I prefer using polystyrene.

As mentioned, keep an eye at the magazines, and ram raid youtube,
This is a great tutorial for starters -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eogwfb4LPLs

If you follow the link to his channel, there are loads of vidz to go through -
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjRkUtHQ774mTg1vrQ6uA5A

As for books, if you really want to work towards the really top standard, keep an eye out for the 'Wild Swan' books written by 'Gordon Gravett' there are a couple of books about making trees and one about grassland landscaping, not cheap but SUPERB!!