Help plz

Started by TJLC8, August 03, 2014, 05:53:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TJLC8

I have just started planning my n gauge railway which consists of 4 tracks. however, I am very new to this scale and in short i have no clue what I'm doing.
i have drawn up a track plan  and chosen my controller  (Morley Vortrak) but I need some help with a few things.
1. HOW DO I WIRE AN ELECTROFROG POINT! My primary concern is that I need a 57xx to run smoothly across points. If possible it needs to have little wiring and point motors which brings me on to my second subject..
2.With a point motor which would you recommend and how do i use it. I think the vortrak has an accessory output but I don't know how to wire it to a lever
3. The track plan involves tunnels at either end which I intend to custom build but how high do I need it to make sufficient clearance for most trains.
4. Code 55 or Code 80, Flexitrack or setrack (I would like as little fuss and wiring on track)
5. ...and finally I have a helix at each end so what degrees does it have to be angled at so that a standard GWR"hall" can pull 4-5 coaches.
thanx in advance :D

TJLC8

Sorry if i posted on the wrong topic or something this is my first post :(

Sprintex

Welcome in TLJC8 :wave:

Have moved this to a more general section for you as you're likely to get more replies :thumbsup:

Paul

NeMo

Others will doubtless answer your questions in more detail.

But let me just suggest you look at Kato track before doing anything else. If simplicity coupled with motorised electrofrog points is important, Kato Unitrack can be extremely helpful and cost effective.

Cheers, NeMo
(Former NGS Journal Editor)

TJLC8

Thanks for the RE. I will look into the kato track but as I will need a fair amount of track won't it be quite expensive? Im trying to keep track price down to under £50 so I can have more money to spend on the trains themselves

d-a-n