Kato unitrack for a points phobic layout builder?

Started by silverfox, January 26, 2014, 05:12:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

silverfox

Hi All,

As a micro layout builder I've always concentrated mainly on creating very small 'roundy roundies' I think this is mainly due to the fact it has kept me in my comfort zone as I'm totally points phobic.....most of my layouts seem to be completely pointless after all!!
On the couple of occasions that turnouts have appeared on my layouts they have been manual 'hand of god' operation and also fairly unreliable, I run DC and they seem to need constant fettling to achieve current flow.

I have decided that my next layout will be a small end to end and therefore I need to tackle my nemesis as some turnouts are inevitable, this decision was helped along by some inspiration from the recent images posted by Gavin (gdandridge) of his great little shelf layout 'Ridley End'.

Having read up a bit on Kato unitrack It appears that the electric points seem to be fairly bullet proof, reliable and more to the point easy for me to set up. I've also taken on board the suggestion that unitrack is supposedly harder to achieve a convincing level of realism on a scenic layout but I've got to say that after studying Jon's (PostModN66) layout 'Lofthole' and some interesting Kato ballasting youtube posts I have to disagree.

So I'd be very interested to hear of anyone's experience with unitrack run as a DC layout using Farish and Dapol stock and whether there are any major pitfalls that I need to worry about before I part with any hard earned! :-\

Cheers all

Jason

Agrafarfan

Hi

I have ordered Kato unitrack due to having some difficulty drilling holes in my table for the Peco motors. I was going to buy Kato originally but decided to go DCC but that didn't work out so I have ordered Kato's M2 master expansion pack and v5 or v6 inner circle expansion pack.