Hmm, well, I've had better days.

Started by emjaybee, May 12, 2019, 11:32:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

emjaybee

Quote from: chrism on May 13, 2019, 12:18:07 PM
Quote from: Malc on May 13, 2019, 11:40:37 AM
Quote from: broadsword on May 13, 2019, 10:00:58 AM
A cautionary tale, however the grim reaper was cheated out of another victim. 

45,000 volts is that AC or DC ?  Not sure if it's the volts or amps that does the damage.
It's DC and the current causes the damage. It only requires 50volts between The fingertips to cause enough current to flow through the heart to stop it.

As I was told years ago, "It's the volts that jolts but the mils that kills".
Don't know how correct it is but I was also told that 30mA for 30µs directly across the heart was enough to stop it.

Absolutely.

I'm an apprentice trained electrician, and all these things were drummed into us. On household electrics I always meter before disconnect and after. Just because I've thrown a fuse/switch doesn't mean some chump hasn't wired it badly before. As a kid you stick your tongue on a PP3 for that 'tingle', four weeks into an electrical apprenticeship and I never did it again!

I've had a few belts from HT systems in my early motoring career, remember Gunsons ColourTune? Never been a problem. I've only had three domestic mains voltage belts in thirty years, one from turning on a chiller with a wet hand ( :smackedface:), one from taking the end of an extension lead to help a builder forgetting the other end was still plugged in (serves me right for being helpful), and the other was when a client turned the electric back on (the bill went UP).

The thing is, on a house, most consumer units have a 'trip' which protects you from stuff like this, but on a vehicle/hedge cutter there's no protection.

Quote from: weave on May 13, 2019, 12:43:26 PM
Hi again Michael,

No replies and no 'thank yous' so hope all OK with you today and you've gone to work as normal.