Well, Erm, Where to start really!!!

Started by QuinsFanPhil, October 11, 2016, 05:44:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

QuinsFanPhil

Hi everyone. I'm a total newbie to N gauge and haven't dabbled since mid 80's when I had a 00 set as a kid.

I have space for a 2m x 1m ish board in my garage (that's going to be insulated agains the worst of the cold).

My first question is about track. I'm amazed at the difference since the last time I looked at trains so I'm quite keen to run DCC and have powered points. I plan on having a double closed loop with a bit of a yard action in the middle and a couple of sidings on the outside running parallel with the straights.  Fairly simple stuff as don't want to get too carried away for my first effort.

However, I do have space to expand so would like to future proof it at much as possible.  So, rather than haring off with one particular make - any suggestions for a manufacturer.  A leading question, I know. Sorry. I'm probably more keen on something with a semi realistic underlay system - but not the clunky looking GF stuff I have seen. Then the availability and reliability of points and bits like that is also a consideration. As well as the interaction with different loco manufacturers.

Thanks for any thoughts.
Phil.

Ditape

:hellosign: :welcomesign:

Depending on how much work you want to put in to your track work will affect the choice some favour the preballasted Kato plug and play style track, personally I favour Peco code 55 with electrofrog points and ballasting the track after laying.
Diane Tape

Railwaygun

You can't go wrong with kato unitrack - use it initially and if you don't love it, it has excellent resale value.

Buy the M1 / M2 starter sets as they Are good value and include a PSU. Then expand to exceed the space available!

Electric points are premiered with switches.

TRaintrax is a popular provider and an NGF advertiser.

There are unitrack threads - do an NGF search.