Electrical connections

Started by oldchadders, June 17, 2013, 04:23:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oldchadders

Hi Guys,
My first proper posting on here, I'm new to all this model train stuff. Trying to put together a simple layout to keep my grandsons happy. I have a baseboard app 4ft x 2ft together with a PECO starter pack and a couple of controllers. My aim is to build two "concentric" ovals, running independently from two separate controllers. I plan two positions where a pair of points will allow crossover from one oval to the other (in either direction). The inner oval will have sidings and will be a notional "goods yard". The outer oval will represent a passenger line, running coaches (my grandson says it has to have a station and signals. As a retired electronics engineer I have no problem wiring up the electrics to do all of the above, however I do have one concern. The basis of the above is to allow both grandsons to play on the layout together, without bothering the other (ie each running a train on one oval track) however I can see there will be a time when one gets fed up and the other wants to run his train on all the track. from a safety and control point of view, this will mean disconnecting one controller from the system. I can see no problem doing this, electrically, with an appropriately connected switch, but I anticipate the time when enthusiasm overcomes the need to "throw the switch" thus my question is "is there a recognised way of achieving this interlock which is foolproof in a child's hands. I have looked at adding microswitches to the points to inhibit operation of both controllers unless both lines are disconnected from each other, but as yet have not found the perfect solution.
TIA.

BobB

I have built layouts viewed and operated by children and more recently grandchildren.