Fed up with n gauge!!!

Started by bluedepot, June 24, 2011, 09:10:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluedepot

god it's just one problem after another...

i got a class 73 chipped by someone on ebay (br large logo, 73 138), it makes a noise taking corners (even radius 3 or 4 curves, bogies not catching on anything, it's a vibrating noise) and more annoyingly it cuts out or short circuits on some points.... it does this 90% of the time...

another problem is the duchess of hamilton loco short circuits on points....

i also get random short circuits with other locos, these are a lot better to be fair, all fairly modern farish diesels, the short circuits are rare and random....

is it because the locos more laterally on the track so much????

i keep my layout clean, i have power feeds to every piece of track, i'm a beginner but i've tried my best to get reliable running.... but there is always one more problem!!!!

is OO like this as well or much better? i don't mind a few 'challenges' but honestly n gauge is testing my patience to the limits!!!! i love the actual models and they look great nowadays... but the quest for reliable running is infuriating!!!!

anyway that's my rant over!!!!

i'm off to forget about model trains for a while....

tim

MJKERR

Most of the Dapol motors screech round curves, there doesn't seem to be any way to avoid it

I too suffered all kinds of problems early on, with stuttering, derailments, and so on

The best thing to do is find one motor that runs over all the track, I use a BachFar Class 56 for this
Nextly run it VERY slowly over all sections of track, this then proves there is no electrical issue
Nextly run it at FULL speed, proving the track alignment is correct

Then work through each model, as you intend to run it

Some examples
A
My Class 91 and Mark 4 coaches will run at full speed with loco hauling
However, with the loco pushing the DVT derails almost all the time at crossovers
The solution was to add some weight to the DVT
B