EPB's availability?

Started by Littorio, August 14, 2019, 04:16:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Littorio

OK I'm new to N Gauge and just as new to what loco's and/or rolling stock are what to which I apologise if I get anything wrong.

My question relates to if there is or has been available a EPB 4Sub (think that's what it's called) like the one pictured. Used to travel backwards and forwards to and from work on one of these in the early 90's and collage in the 80's.
Just starting out

GrahamB

Nothing available ready to run I'm afraid. Electra Graphics do make a range of overlays https://www.electrarail.co.uk/n-gauge-third-rail-emus-5-c.asp refers.
Tonbridge MRC Member.
My Southwark Bridge thread can be found at https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=38683.0
My Southwark Bridge website can be found at https://southwarkbridge.wixsite.com/ngauge

crewearpley40

Intercity

The closest your going to get RTR is the Farish 4CEP (411), it's a nice model, many wish it had been more popular as it may have lead to more SR units (for some reason it wasn't released in NSE, only green and blue/grey).

Steven B

Your picture looks to be of a 2EPB or 4EPB; Neither of these is a 4SUB

The 4SUB were Southern Railway EMUs, built by adding an extra carriage to a 3SUBs during the early 1940s. The 3SUBs dated back to 1915. The last one was withdrawn on 1983.

The EPB were build by BR in 1955 to a design based on the Mk1 coach body. They lasted until 1995.

Wikipedia is very good for giving a general overview of British locos & multiple units.

The Farish 4CEP was only released in Green and Blue/Grey as they produced the original, non-refurbished unit. NSE was only carried by the units refurbished in the late 1970s. As built the 4CEP had guard's compartments in both driving cars. When refurbished, the guard's compartment was moved to one of the intermediate cars with the former guard's space being rebuilt for passengers.