a complete newbie !

Started by cjbeattie, January 12, 2015, 01:00:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cjbeattie

Hey all

Im new to n gauge and to railways since I was 7 and had a OO hornby railway... so  its all new...

Do all N gauge regardless of make and brand work on N gauge railways? The reason im asking is that on eBay I see a lot of '@make@  compatible so it makes me wonder if some brands don't work with controller/track and others do!
;D
What is the best way to do it? Buy a starter kit? Ive seen kits With engine and a loop of track or buy it separately?

One last thing, I have a bad dust allergy so how do guys keep the dust off your railway sets? a dyson which i have will pull up everything  pva glued or not!

Any help would be good to a newcomer

Thanks

C J BEATTIE

Bealman

G'day from Australia, and welcome to the NGF!  :thumbsup:

Addressing your initial question, the answer is yes - all N gauge locos will run on N gauge track, regardless of brand of loco or track.

However, things are not quite that simple - you need to decide if you are going to run DC or the latest method of operating trains - DCC (Digital Command Control). Also if you are going to run British prototype, then you have only a choice of three major brands - Graham Farish by Bachmann, Dapol, or Union Mills. American and Japanese prototypes are from other companies, Kato being one of the most respected. Continental models are produced by a number of European based companies.

Regarding track, Peco is a major player, but there are other brands - Kato produce a very user-friendly plug and play track system which is gaining popularity among forum members.

For a total beginner, a starter set is probably the best way to go, and there are many available from most manufacturers. Don't be in a mad rush to jump in - have a good read of the stuff here on the forum (the search function is useful in that regard).