Does Size Matter Help needed

Started by UPINSMOKE, October 16, 2014, 12:02:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

UPINSMOKE

Hi all,
         I thought the title would get you looking :D :D

On a serious note I have just purchased a job lot of trackside buildings. They include engine sheds, coal station, signal boxes, and various other bits. The problem I have is it was stated it was N Gauge. Some of which is ok, but have my doubts about the rest. I am no expert on N Gauge buildings as I do not have that much. I am thinking most of it may be Z Gauge. Below are the original pictures of all the buildings.

If anyone can help, all I need to know what height is the average signal box, engine shed etc. I am trying to make sure I am not making a mistake before I get back to the seller. I have taken a few photo's below next to an engine and rolling stock as a guide. If you could have a look and let me know what you think please.

Engine Shed and the N Gauge engine will not fit and I have another shed like this, also other buildings of similar size.

Signal Boxes look too small against the wagon.

This looks ok to me.

Engine only just clears footbridge.

This does not look too bad but not that sure.

Its a pity if some is not what it should be as I would like some of the items. It was all described as N Gauge. Just hope you are able to help me.
Growing old is mandatory, Growing up is optional

Layout Southern Comfort - In-Progress:
http://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=23145.0

lil chris

Hi there, That engine shed looks like a Ratio Kit, I have one of those from years ago. I have noticed you have raised your track quite a bit,I think you just need to raise the the buildings level with the track. Others will confirm I think I am correct.
Lil Chris
My new layout  East Lancashire Railway
My old layout was Irwell Valley Railway.
Layout previous was East Lancashire Lines, changed this new one. My new layout here.