Linux Operating Systems.

Started by longbridge, September 22, 2011, 10:08:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

longbridge

Just wondering if any forum members other than myself are using a Linux operating system?.

I have been using Linux Mint for over three years and never had a virus or any net nasties.
Keep on Smiling
Dave.

findus

Quote from: oldrailbug on September 22, 2011, 10:08:52 PM
Just wondering if any forum members other than myself are using a Linux operating system?.

I have been using Linux Mint for over three years and never had a virus or any net nasties.

I use ubuntu and the same as you never had a problem! at the start playing around with wine was like banging my head against a brick wall but now i understand it better its easy.

im really thinking about putting it onto my main pc. the only thing stopping me is my iphone not being able to sync  :thumbsdown:

EtchedPixels

Quote from: oldrailbug on September 22, 2011, 10:08:52 PM

I used to work for Red Hat....

My TV runs Linux, my PC's run Linux, my phone runs Linux (Android). Don't yet have any DCC decoder chips powerful enough to run Linux on but you'd get a small Linux server into some of the emptier OO locos I think which might be a good laugh 8)

Alan
"Knowledge has no value or use for the solitary owner: to be enjoyed it must be communicated" -- Charles Pratt, 1st Earl Camden

Lawrence

Our works pc's are a combination of XP and Red Hat, one problem I haven't managed to sort properly yet is, occasionally on a couple of  machines, the mouse freezes in desktop and I cant do anything, I end up doing a Ctrl-Alt-F1 , logging in and doing a shutdown -h now to recover it, is there any easier way?

longbridge

Nice to see others on the forum using Linux, Lawrence I cant help you with Red Hat as that is one of the few OS I have not tried.