Do you all solder wires first before connecting?

Started by Grassyfield, January 25, 2024, 07:35:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grassyfield

Do you guys solder the wires before putting them inside your terminal strip or distribution board?, or do you think its fine to just put the strands in with out tinting wire first?.

Thank you.

Bealman

Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

NeilWhite

As I understand it you should not tin wire before putting it into any screw-type terminal. It is better to leave the strands unsoldered and screw straight onto the bare wires.

The reason for this is that compression or ageing of the solder on the tinned wires can cause conduction problems and possible failure of the join.

Neil

Bealman

My experience has been the screws splay multicore wires and cause intermittent contact.

emjaybee

As a qualified electrician, I wouldn't ever recommend using tinned cable ends in screw connectors.

I frequently get called to jobs where there's a flickering light, hot switch, burning smell from a socket. It's invariably where the multi strand cable has been tinned. Because tinning creates a solid 'lump' screws have a habit of loosening. This doesn't tend to happen with loose strands.

Quote from: Bealman on January 25, 2024, 08:09:35 AMMy experience has been the screws splay multicore wires and cause intermittent contact.

George, I suspect you're having this trouble because there's not enough wire to adequately fill the connector. Try doubling over, or quadrupling over to fill the connector better.

Tinned ends do work fine in sprung, push fit connectors as there's the constant pressure from the spring.
Brookline build thread:

https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50207.msg652736#msg652736

Sometimes you bite the dog...

...sometimes the dog bites you!

----------------------------------------------------------

I can explain it to you...

...but I can't understand it for you.

chrism