Novice needs first build advice please

Started by justintime, December 28, 2012, 08:44:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

justintime

I am a complete novice and this is my first build attempt ever.  I thought it best to build something to test my skills and use as a learning aid for soldering, understanding points, wiring, DCC etc. before building full-on with scenery etc.  This is just a plain design with no frills other than what you see really.  I would like to build it on a baseboard of approx. 1800mm x 750mm and set out the track onto woodland scenic 'N' track bed ST1475, 3mm x 1¼" which will be glued to the ply baseboard top.  I would also like to use Peco Code 55 with concrete sleepers to keep the design modern.

UNLESS you kind folks advise me differently of course!

Have I got things right/wrong, will this design be possible/practical?  Also: How far apart should the rails be set to keep things to scale? & how far should track be set from a platform edge?
Your thoughts ideas and constructive criticism would be most welcome before I start please.  Please excuse the drawing quality.

My Latest Purchase - Two SD70's & 24 Trucks :-)

buckle247

Hi get yourself a Peco 6ft way gauge. Cost me about £0.25 from a local model shop and is great for keeping a nice even track spacing.

As for platform spacing, use your widest loco/wagon to test how much clearance it needs before it catches.

Newportnobby

As an experiment the plan looks OK but I'm not sure about the kinks in the inner sidings. Is there a purpose to that ???
I would also move the scissors crossover to the right so it is before the inner sidings, as that way you can run something from the Up line (outer oval) into the sidings without going all round the layout.
I'd suggest you use electrofrog points as, if you can wire them up correctly, they will provide better running.
As Buckle247 says, use your widest loco to set platform clearances (either borrow or buy the latest Farish 08 ;))

justintime