Very basic questions

Started by louder, February 26, 2017, 02:28:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

louder

Hey everyone. I am very new to model trains and I just have some basic questions if that is ok? I have had a search on the internet but I have to be honest I am not really sure what I am searching for as I still don't know the terms used in model trains!

How do you couple and uncouple trains/carriages?
What do 0-4-0, 2-6-4 and numbers formatted like this mean?
What brands of N gauge track are reliable and give you good options. So far I can only find UniTrack and Peco (I had to google Peco to find the answer to join the forum!)
Can someone point me in the direction of any N-Gauge superstores? I figure I will be be able to learn a lot just be searching through products and working out what they do from there. I mean I had no idea you could motorise points!

I am brand new to the world of model trains and while I have some experience in model making, this is all a bit foreign to me!

Where I am currently at:

I have build the space for my layout which I am now planning. (So I need to pick track!)
I have a DCC controller from Bachman on the way.
I have a train on the way, it is DC but I also have a DCC chip that I am going to install the chip in it.
I've decided on an era but not a theme for my layout.

Sorry to be such a pain, I just find that the information available is either all in technical language which I don't understand yet or focused on HO scale (which I found out is the same as OO)

I am very eager to learn.

NeMo

Quote from: louder on February 26, 2017, 02:28:07 PM
How do you couple and uncouple trains/carriages?
Lots of alternatives, but virtually all UK stock will be supplied with Rapido couplings that are meant to be coupled and uncoupled manually. Alternatives from Dapol and Peco offer semi-automatic coupling.

What do 0-4-0, 2-6-4 and numbers formatted like this mean?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whyte_notation