Transatlantic Coupling

Started by Nick, June 12, 2014, 09:21:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nick

I'm not sure where to post this question, so, mods, please feel free to move.

The layout I'm building has a quarry. At one time the prototype that originally inspired the plan  operated an American switcher loco for shunting purposes (an EMD SW1001). (I chose "inspired" rather than "is based on" deliberately - this is not in any way an model of an actual prototype, and I am not of the rivet counting persuasion at all.)

As a bit of whimsy, I thought it might be nice to be able to shunt the quarry with an American loco. I understand about the scale differences, etc.

So I found a loco I'd be happy with, but it is fitted with US couplings - Bachmann EZ-Mate II's, to be precise.

The wagons I have for the quarry are Grafar POAs, which are fitted with Rapido couplings in what appear to be NEM pockets (I have no experience of messing about with coupling types.)

So, my question is: can I modify either the loco or the wagons so that they can operate together? I'm not overly bothered about preserving remote operation capability.

I've read various articles and threads, but I'm none the wiser. Well, I suppose I know more about the situation now than I did, but I haven't bottomed the issue out. I haven't been able to establish whether the EZ-Mate is compatible with any UK knuckle coupler that I could fit in the NEM pockets, and it seems as though there may be an issue over ride height even if the couplers were mechanically compatible.

Equally, I can't find out if I can retrofit a Rapido coupler to the US loco. Looking at an online exploded diagram of the loco, the EZ-Mate appears to be secured by a single screw. It feels as though this would be the best option if possible as I'd only have to modify one item, not all the wagons and any other loco I wanted to use with them.

Can anyone shed any light? Or should I just abandon the whole idea?
Nick