Newport, Monmouthshire layout - best choice for autocoach pulled by tank engine?

Started by JeffPreston, January 05, 2015, 12:59:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JeffPreston

Hi again everyone!

Can you help? I am looking for the best choice for an autocoach pulled by a tank engine.

First N Gauge layout! DCC, using Peco code 80.

In general I prefer reliability over microscopic detail - so for example if a loco runs forever but doesn't have a separate pack of rivets supplied with it - that loco would be my preference over others that come with detailing kits but derail on wide continuous curves when driven at scale speeds.   :(

I am no expert and so I may not have my facts straight!   :-\

I am building a layout around the period of the end of steam and introduction of diesel. I am being a little flexible with the simulated date as I want perhaps rather more steam than I should - I guess the date is around 1964-ish.

Does anyone have any ideas what livery an autocoach should be on the BR Western Region at that time (maroon?) - and were they even still being used?

Were there any GWR chocolate and cream autocoaches still in use at that time?

Whose autocoach do you recommend for the job?

And which tank engine - I imagine a pannier? If so - which one - and made by whom?

Any comments on the above and also on the reliability of any loco suggested would be greatly appreciated.

Finally - ideally - for that extra value for my N-Gauge budget - I would also be able to use the tank engine for shunting and small passenger or goods trains too.  :claphappy:

Thanks in advance for any advice!  ;)

JeffPreston

Hi OM:

Excellent! Thanks for all the tips! Dapol have one in maroon for £14.95 and it certainly looks splendid.

As for the loco - sorry I forgot - I am looking for DCC ready as greatly preferred.

Zunnan