ERA 8 Shunters in DCC

Started by KenR, November 25, 2019, 01:52:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KenR

Preamble - How i got here.
I am a newbie Modeller, with my first layout underway.
I have built the baseboard, laid the track (Kato Unitrack) and I am now starting to pay attention to the scenery and landscaping etc.
My Layout consists of a 1500mm x 750mm double interconnecting loops with 2 sidings - Control is DCC. All working well.

To say I have been learning an awful lot is an understatement, and I have found a lot of good information on this forum.
However, A lack of fundamental planning at the start is now causing me problems.
I started with a Jinty (GF-372-210a) and some goods wagons.  I then purchased a NE SE DMU (GF371-505).
Yes I have an ERA 3 shunter with an Era 8 DMU - which is now causing me concern as I look at buildings etc for my landscaping and scenery.

My preference would be to go down the ERA 8 path and build my scenery around that time period.
So I have started to look at replacing the Jinty with an ERA 8 goods yard loco/shunter.

I am having trouble identifying a Era 8 DCC Shunter - I am not sure if there is one available.
I read the GF 371-025 - Ivor - Is not suitable for DCC conversion , and I am not sure if others, like the GF 371-014 could be converted to DCC and if so how hard would it be. 
I also see a GF 371-014 body/frame is available - could this be used to convert another DCC chassis ?

Any help and assistance would be greatly appreciated.
(And help me feel a less of an idiot for not having a clear plan in the first place).

Ken

REGP

Hi Ken

A Class 08 Diesel Shunter might well suit you, introduced between 155 & 62 they are still in use today.

Only last week as we drove over the Choats Lane / Rippleside sidings there was a Class 08 diesel shunter parked between a couple of much bigger Locos (they looked a bit like "Sheds").

I was resplendent in Blue small logo livery so was probably a Heritage railway loco.