Recomendations for computer program dealing with scale drawings

Started by Jollybob, May 12, 2023, 12:43:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jollybob

Hi guys, oh i hope that this is the most appropriate area for this subject?

I am thinking of getting a computer program where I can scan images, like scale drawings and see if I can shrink them down in order to print them off, which would certainly help when building models. Therefore i can model them a bit easier. Any ideas?
I'm a complete novice when it comes to this. I suspect  most programs can probably do this but I wouldn't know where to start?
Any suggestions would be grand.

Rob.  :D

Ali Smith

What I do is scan the drawing, then print it out. Your printer's software will probably allow you to print out at a percentage of the size of the original. For instance if you wanted a 2mm scale drawing from a 4mm scale drawing print at 50%.
British N gauge is 2.06mm/ft so you would go a little bit larger. I'll let you do the sums; your computer has a calculator in it I'm sure.
Before you start, make sure your original drawing really is to the stated scale by measuring known dimensions both vertically and horizontally as the printing process can change size and proportions, plus the master drawing might even be wrong. Draughtsmen have been known to make mistakes. Do the same with your finished drawing before working to it.
Try this before you go shopping for software; you probably already have all you need.

Good luck,

Ali (not a computer expert)

Southerngooner