What Size Box For A Micro Layout?

Started by Artisan, June 26, 2023, 01:35:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Artisan

Hello,

I would like to build a micro layout in a wooden box with a hinged lid. The depth of the box I would prefer would be around 100mm. I have seen a selection of boxes for sale but I am not sure what size box to get. The very simple layout I have in mind is a straight forward oval with scenery. I want to be able to close the lid when not in use and make it small enough to either display on a desk or a shelf. The layouts I have built up to now have always been of a reasonable size but I have never tried to build a micro layout before so I would like some help with deciding what size box I would need. If anyone can suggest a suitable size box I would be very grateful.

Greg
Best regards
Greg

JanW

Maybe Kevin @Phoenix can give you ideas and inspiration?
I don't know if you found his layout Windmill Hill but it's worth looking at  :)
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=39207.1410

Jan

Artisan

Hello Jan

Thank you for your reply.

I hadn't seen the layout but just had a look. Based on what he has done I think his layout is a bit too big. What I want to achieve is, for want of a better word, pocket sized. In my minds eye I think the box would need to be about the size of an average sized briefcase. I suppose what I need to know is how tight a curve I can get away with that will easily allow a small loco and small carriage or two goods vans to run unhindered and as I have never been good with understanding radiuses so I'm finding it difficult deciding on what box size I need.

Greg
Best regards
Greg

mrobs2002

I've seen a Youtube video of an N gauge loop & siding in a standard A4 boxfile. Used Kato 117mm radius curves and an 08 class shunter, I think. Can't find it now of course . . .

Edit: Found it!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pQeqIvIBb0

Gyppy101

Artisan

Hello,

Thank you for the link to Ian Redman. Very help.

Greg